My Sister Carol - Day 199 - Daily Haiku - Wondrous Wednesday - I wish I could pick up the phone and make you laugh again.

in #youarehope6 years ago (edited)

Carol at Sea World, San Diego, Summer 1975.jpg

My Sister Carol
My greatest champion and
My detractor; both

My sister Carol was that rarest combination of highly intelligent, a critical thinker, hilarious, irreverent, ethical, honorable, occasionally capricious and entirely unfair, and frequently just plain goofy.

Growing up she was, hands down, one of my closest friends, even when we frequently disagreed, and occasionally drove one another nuts. And she was one hell of a lot of fun.

When I left California for Florida, and we were relegated initially to communicating via letters and phone calls, my phone bill skyrocketed, but every penny was worthwhile. And the arrival of email was a godsend for us both!

When push came to shove, and I wanted a second opinion on what was going on in my life, it was her opinion that I sought out first, because even when we disagreed, which wasn't infrequent, her insights nearly always led me to greater learning and insights of my own.

Like myself, my mom and my dad, Carol was an avowed lifelong learner, with a wide frame of reference and wide-ranging interests, and a wicked sense of humor that could be triggered by virtually anything.

And that is what I miss the most. As sisters, with similar senses of humor, we could nearly always make each other laugh, and Carol had a great laugh -- if she started laughing in a theatre, it wasn't long before nearly everyone else in the theatre was laughing too, because her laugh was simply infectious, in the best of ways.

I remember once when my then-husband, Michael, told me that I needed to call the phone company, because they had screwed up and showed that a call I made to California at 1:30 in the morning had lasted for four and a half hours.

And I said, yeah, that's about right, I called Carol and, as usual, we talked about anything and everything.

We only talked about once a month, on average, but when we did, we could easily talk for four hours, and frequently did. We bounced ideas off of one another, shared treasured music, books and films, talked about the mundane minutiae of our days, and always, we laughed. Long, loudly, and hard.

And while we had very similar views in many areas, we also had wide areas of disagreement, and that was where Carol shined, and was one of my greatest teachers; when I was at my most passionate, and stating my opinion with all of my heart and soul, she made me prove my point, and demonstrate that I had actually done my homework.

It was Carol, more than anyone, who made me a critical thinker, who made me question what we were hearing on the news or on the streets, who was the first to question herself, and if she received a non-answer from someone, she would not let it go until they had firmly stated an opinion, one way or the other.

Wishy-washy didn't cut it with her. At all.

In mid-2010 she and I talked about her health problems, but although I knew that she had been ailing for some time, I had no idea just how ill she truly was, because she did not want me to know.

And then, on September 12th, at shortly after midnight, California time, she was gone. Nine days before her birthday. And my world was forever altered.

I still find myself wanting to pick up the phone and get her take on something, to share a particularly gorgeous sunset, some hilarious tidbit that Marek has come up with, or simply to shoot the breeze.

But, as much as I'd love to talk with her again, I have nowhere to call.

Still, I talk to her all the time. And I've been telling her lately how much I still think about her, and how much I miss her, and our mom. She was one of a kind, and she had a lot to do with making me into the person I am today, for which I am very grateful.

Thank you, Carol. Thank you.

This post, and all those from now until the end of 2018, I am dedicating to the work of #tarc and #yah, aka @rhondak's nonprofit dog rescue and @sircork's charity @youarehope.

Half the liquid proceeds earned from my posts will be evenly split between the two organizations.

The photo of my sister Carol was taken by me at Sea World, San Diego, in the summer of 1975, using my Kodak Instamatic camera.

#tarc #yah #ecotrain #thewritersblock #smg #ghsc #thirtydayhaikuchallenge #teamgood #steemsugars #teamgirlpowa #womenofsteemit #steemusa #qurator #steemitbasicincome #knot #bethechange #chooselove #naturephotography #photography #neighbors #beauty #love #animals #dogs #rescue #adoption #spayandneuter #homesteading #permaculture #naturalhealing #dogrescue #dogsofsteemit #grace #poetry #philosophy #beablessing #naturalremedy #gratitude #abundance #give #family #peace #tranquility #giving #donating #philanthropy #butterfly #butterflies #sister #family #california #siblings #sisters

@edxserverus_5 - TSU Banner.png

SubscriptionPackOwner.png

ecotrain.png

The Writers Block.gif

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://tinyurl.com/y93h9wt4

TribeGlobalLove Banner.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this very private part of yourself with us and the precious photo I can see that she was full of life and a lot of energy. I know you miss her dearly but actually apart of her will always be with you. There is a sisterhood bond. And you gave a part of yourself to her and it is with her soul forever. Here on our side, she lives on through you and I have had an opportunity to witness that by the love emanating from you that I felt during our conversations and the many times you have taken time to comment and share on my blog and in discord in the tribe. It still means a lot. And your journey is still young you have many others to meet and bless, many places to go and many many more miles on your journey.

Thanks, @rensoul17, I appreciate your take as always.

I know she would have loved the communities here on Steemit, and I wish she had lived long enough to see it in action, because I know she'd be having a blast with it all.

I'm grateful to have had her in my life, and just have to be content with that, though occasionally I want to give her hell for not sticking around so that we could grow old together, and become crotchety old ladies on the front porch assailing the world with our collective wisdom.

So I guess I'll have to just do my part for the both of us. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

This comment made me smile. Those memories of your sister and you so precious. I hope you have a great weekend @crescendoofpeace.

Thanks, @rensoul17 - I hope you do as well. ;-)

Thank you so much for posting so beautifully.

Thanks very much. I'm glad it struck a chord with you.

Posted using Partiko Android

I upvoted your post.

Thank you.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thanks for your support, I appreciate it, and you.

Posted using Partiko Android

You’re welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70