3000 Subscribers On YouTube (Still Not Monetized After 8 Months)

in #youtube6 years ago

3000-subs-still-not-monetized-full.png

Maybe this is a cautionary tale for those of you who want to build up a YouTube channel and have it enabled for monetization. I had bounced around at about 2,900 subscribers and was losing some of those who got their teeth knocked out by the crypto crash and then I would gain some and then lose some. It kept going back and forth and people even told me that some how they had been unsubscribed from my channel somehow so I don't know what is going on with that.

Officially I just hit 3000 Subscribers on my crypto YouTube channel

It isn't much to really brag about at this point considering for the last 8 months I have been waiting for YouTube's approval for Monetization. I don't have any copywrite strikes on any of my channels and I'm a verified partner so you would think that it would be an automated process to get approved once you hit the threshold. Just to let you know it is a manual process now and they keep moving the date back of when they are supposed to be done reviewing applications. I have seen the month change 3 times. Now it is saying they are hoping to get caught up by the end of June. Well we are almost there and I'm not holding my breath.

Your videos won't get served up as much as someone who is monetized. Why would they want to serve your videos up when they can serve someone up where they have the ability to earn off of?

I honestly believe I might have 100,000 Subscribers on that channel if they would have allowed me to monetize it back in November. Because once you are monetized you are going to work that much harder on building it up as well. A lot of times I don't even really want to upload videos there because I'm not going to get that additional income stream. It is mainly for a convenience and to draw more followers over to STEEM as well as the ease of making a video and uploading it is easier in some ways than putting it on DTube or DLive.

I'm going to be honest. I get so triggered seeing some crypto YouTuber's subscriber counts. I seriously want to scream when I see what they are saying and see their subscriber counts.

And then to see they are monetized and I'm not is painful. There isn't anything I can do about it either. The only thing I could have done if I knew this was going to happen was to take one of my existing channels and changed it into a crypto channel but it would have sort of just destroyed what had been created there and the branding with the custom URL wouldn't have been right. You can only change that once.

Even though a lot of us are holding on by a thread over here STEEM is the best show in town but I can't really go with the video related content because upvotes from DLive and DTube have been so rare for me. It feels a lot like STEEM in 2016 where I'm hoping for upvotes from the delegated power that was given to these 3rd parties.

At this point most of my earnings are from upvotes from delegated power from Steemit INC that was given to Busy.org and eSteem and then delegated power from a whale given to another user who is supportive. I pretty much have it figured out how to consistently get the Busy and eSteem upvotes but sometimes it isn't the quickest way to get my content up.

I don't want to sound like a candy ass McBitch but if I'm struggling to earn $20 / day I'm hemorrhaging bad over here. It's a brutal world though. I'm lucky..... I have Air Conditioning!

This isn't a complainer post but I'm probably going to livestream to DLive and ask for their support. I would rather them just tell me I'm a complainer McBitch and that they aren't going to ever support me. You know why??????

It's The Maybes That Will Kill You

Earn $10 Of Free Bitcoin From Brian Phobos!  

Thank you for reading my post and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

ThemTube is dead, they just don't know it yet.

You should see what has been happening to monetized for years, thousands of videos, continuous posting channels.
It is not pretty.
After that advert fiasco a while back, many channels are earning a tenth of what they formerly were.

Further, those who have any right-leaning content are getting all kinds of videos demonitized. And, if you are into any anti-feminist or anything that shows women in a bad light, the channels are being shut down for nothing.

Getting flagged for copyright strikes on a video that is nothing but you speaking. Seriously.

The way ThemTube is treating content creators, it is only a matter of time before they are dead. But, they were built to control the flow of information.

Yeah it is pretty bad out there and I like the ThemTube name. That is pretty good! I personally think some responsible 3rd party advertising can work on a platform and ultimately I want to build a platform like STEEM with a little different interface and some tweaks that will have some responsible ads that aren't intrusive and then pump part of the rewards back into the content creators so that they can earn crypto and earn money off the ads as well.

The biggest hurdle with all of it is the hosting expense of videos. That is what kills most competitors. It is far too expensive for most to float the cost to scale up.

I think with what we are seeing with DLive is very interesting and I can envision a platform that takes elements from Steemit, DTube, DLive, and Busy.org and creates a really good user experience where people can upload videos and live stream and post updates about what they are doing......etc.

I really feel like the format that DTube is in but with at least 1080p capability, reliability, and the ability to livestream could work really well and then have non intrusive ads as well to help bring in more revenue to the model.

Here is honestly what I would like to do. Do an airdrop on EOS and bill it as a video platform that also has advertisement revenue for content creators and development of the platform. Keep 30% of the initial token supply to fund development and also drop a portion of that to STEEM accounts who have at least 500 SP and a reputation over 50.

Then build the thing off the already operating code from STEEM / DLive instead of building on EOS directly to speed up development of it.

Essentially it would be a similar platform in a lot of ways just with a wider and more fair distribution model. Then let the market decide if the project is worth buying into .....etc.

Invest in Theta.

One of the reasons i know that ThemTube is corrupt, NWO pushing, elitest crap is that they never go broke streaming all that video. Anyone competing gets swallowed by the cost, and they aren't using nothing compared to ThemTube.

I think that one of the biggest problems with advertisements is that all the big money is in big products which is owned by the same, corrupt, NWO pushing, elitists.

So, a competing platform will just never pull the same ad revenue. And most people just think they aren't being competitive enough.

I get what you are saying for sure.

I call them Craptube

I get that people have gripes with Youtube but there's no denying they have a ton of content and their algorithm is spot on. If you had the general public use Youtube for 10 minutes and DTube for 10 minutes I gurantee you 100% of people would choose Youtube.

While you may have personal gripes with them I think Steemit/DTube could stand to take some notes from them to improve our platforms.

YouTube hates small YouTubers because YouTube made them have 4000 hours of watch time and 1K subscribers to make money, but on Steemit/Dtube no requirements to make money.

@aaliyahholt I know it's frustrating but there is a reason for this policy. People like myself have our videos stolen and resposted multiple times per week. People steal my content and then make money off my content via Adsense / Youtube Monetization. By having these policies it gets rid of the spammers because 99% aren't willing to build up a channel to do that and if they were to put the effort to build up the channel then they wouldn't wanna blow it getting policy violations. Youtube doesn't do this because they hate small creators they do it because of that reason.

Here's aother thign, if you don't have 4,000 hours of watch time and 1k subscribers the amount of money your missing out on is so minimal it wouldn't even matter. It would probably take you 2 years to get your $100 payout if that's all your channel is doing.

Youtube gives us a video hosting platform that actually works pretty much 100% of the time, not to knock DTube but it's glitchy. Youtube lets us host all these videos for nothign, DTube takes 25% of your rewards and after 5 years if you want your videos to remain up you have to pay.

Adsense is a very small part of content monetization your better off using CPA programs and affiliate programs which you can put in the decription of youtube videos

I get your points, but their 10K rule prevented people from monetizing( especially stolen content), a kid stole my video, he couldn't monetize because he didn't have 10K views, and you can have a video really take off and you won't make anything out of it, my video on Aaliyah Holt about fixing encoding overload on OBS has 1K views, my video on Simply Jazz on how to link YouTube video to your snapchat almost at 200 views, and I am missing out on that potential money because Logan Paul thought it was funny to film a dead body. ( I believe that's the partial reason YouTube came up with the rule. YouTube needs to realize no matter how strict you make things, people will find a way to cheat. They could have the watch time and sub 4 sub to get the 1K subs.

I think alot of times the bigger creators with more notoriety tend to be the ones to push the limits. I think partly because they know they can get away with more, shit Youtube was putting a bunch of money into a logan paul movie so I think he kinda gets a big head and thinks I am Youtube essentially I can do whatever the fuck I want. I also think these guys because they create so much content and have such a large subscriber base they always seem to feel the need to do something bigger, crazier, push the limits, etc.

I think every site, program, etc starts off really generous to users to build a userbase and over time as they need individuals like us less and less things become less generous. I come from the world of affiliate marketing so for example Netflix in their early days offered nearly $25 for a signup with no credit card required. over time as they became more of a household name and didn't need people to bring awareness that commission droped and dropped and dropped and was eventually cancelled for all but a few high dollar affiliates. AMazon has recently cut the commission on their affiliate program, Ali Express from from a 30 day cookie to a 24 hour cookie to a session based cookie. I think it makes sense as Youtube becomes flooded with creators and wants to have more control over what people are putting up and what advertisers videos are being displayed on things like this are bound to happen.

While 1,000 minutes of watchtime or whatever it was was enough to deter a lot of content reposters and scammers at the end of the day its not a huge bar to reach. If someone investes the time in developing 1000 subscribers and all that watch time they are going to be really hesitant to post some nonsense that's going to cause them to lose monetization.

Ultimatly at teh end of the day big companies care about themselves and protecting their brand and reputation comes first and foremost over people like you and me making money. Its their platform we can either play by their rules or go away is what it really boils down to. Not to say I don't have the same frustrations heck my monetization went from like 4500 a month to 1200 a month, I'm not happy about it but to some extent it is what it is

It could take me years to get 1K subscribers, my channel grows so slow I question what I am doing wrong

Youtube is not dead, while we all have complaints about Youtube as soon as someone leave there's a flurry of new people waiting to take their place despite the long waits and everything else. I feel for Brian and yeah it's super frustrating but Youtube has such a head start on every other video platform out there. Competitors like VidMe have come and gone, nobody else can really manage to even come up with a decent competitor. While DTube is cool lets be honest there's nowhere near the number of users, nowhere near the wide array of content, etc.

I think InstaTV may be able to give them a run for their money but ultimeatley I don't think they will win out over Youtube. InstaTV also isn't going to be doing monetization at least initially which I think isn't a smart move. If you wanna win over creators you gotta let them earn

No, ThemTube is dead.

I have watched this several times.

Your premise is that there are no competitors, how could it fail?
I know of two competitors, one and two steps into the future, that will blow away ThemTube with advanced technology.

Now, ThemTube will still be around, just like FOXCNNABCBS are.
They are owned by the same people who will pay any amount of money to try to maintain control of everything you see. However, their actual viewer share is plummeting.

And big name ThemTube producers are looking for a way out.
And with up and coming content creators being stifled, a new outlet will be formed. (it is the law of the universe)

So, ThemTube is dead

I'd be willing to bet 24 months or 2 years from now Youtube is still the king of video by a longshot. Believe me, I hope I'm wrong, I'd love for another competitor to step up but Vimeo isn't really even the same type of platform, Twitter tried video and letting video creators monetize that was a flop, InstaTV may do well but I don't think it will be the same experience, VidMe tried and went under, DTube is cool but nowhere near the amount of content, the userbase or the refined algorithm. I hope your right but I don't think so

Sorry your still not monetized man. I saw something posted online the other day that Youtube had recently monetized something like 5,000 channels in a big push to bring more monetized channels back online, I thoguht of you and was hoping you got in.

This is getting ridiculous. It makes me regret not spending more time building channels and getting them monetized a year or two back. I do have a couple. If you have any interest I'll take a look and see if I have any monetized channels that are not being used and not making much and I'd be happy to give you one if I have one. Granted it would be kinda like starting from scratch as you'd probably have to change the niche and rebrand it but at least could start earning something. I'll start logging into some old accounts and see what I can come up with

Thanks man, It is hard to know if it would be worth jumping over to another channel and sort of starting over in a way but the way things stand right now it isn't a great situation and I get so mad uploading videos to that channel I have been waiting on.

That really sucks. Why are they doing this to people grrrr

It is pretty unreal because they sort of left everyone hanging and kept deleting people's accounts and taking their monetization.

Yeah and that is freaking annoying grrrr

I don't want to sound like a candy ass McBitch but if I'm struggling to earn $20 / day I'm hemorrhaging bad over here.

Brian, have you looked into whitelisting on Smartsteem?

The times when I have looked at it there doesn't seem to be an advantage to using the bidbot other than it might push a post to the "HOT" page but will be a break even at best. It always seems to be a hard thing to calculate because of the fluctuation in prices. Let's say for instance STEEM Dollars drops faster than STEEM then that could throw off the calculation of how much a person recouped from using SmartSteem. That has just been my perception.

What has been your experience?

With the recent ROI improvements, you should be making enough to get the SBD/Steem you put in, plus a little bit of extra on top. Users are actually making positive ROI with Smartsteem.

Far out man taking forever

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71