YouTube TV Review

in #youtube6 years ago

YouTubeTV-Main.png

DTube is going to take over! DTube is going to take over! Wait what??? Sorry guys I just went into full circle jerk mode for a second there. This review is about YouTube TV. There is a 7 Day free trial for it right now and then the regular price is $40 / month after the trial runs out.

You can stream on your computer or you can stream to your computer and it can even work with devices like the Roku. The thing that is cool is that when stuff is playing live you can just pop that open and watch it just like you would with DirectTV or some other service. If a game is going on you can just watch it and the stream is quality.
baseball.png

The part where I was sort of disappointed is when I tried to click on a movie but it wouldn't play currently and it just said it would record it when it comes on the next time.

It was on FX which you know what watching a movie on FX is like. There is a commercial every 3 minutes so it takes like 4 hours to watch a movie.
Interstellar-screenshot.png
I guess I shouldn't be so surprised. It is like having them control the recording device and only being able to watch shows when they are on.

That isn't the case with all shows though. For instance the mid season finale for Fear The Walking Dead was on tonight and I was able to click on it and watch it even though it was on a few hours ago. So I don't know why some moves or networks make you wait instead of somehow working out a model where they can tap into advertising revenue at any point.

fear-the-walking-dead.png
At the end of the day I would think that pumping as much content real time and serving up advertisements instead of making people wait to see it.

Conclusion

Overall I think this could replace a service like DirectTV or at least provide some more competition out there or another option for people who can't mount a satellite dish for some reason like an apartment complex what isn't facing the right direction.

For $40 / month it isn't worth it to me personally because the main things I watch is the Walking Dead and Fear the Walking dead and I have my sisters Direct TV login. Personally I think that Netflix in some ways is a better deal but I can understand how people feel like they can blow through everything on there and end up just binging out real bad on shows that have ran several season.

Do you guys think YouTube TV is a viable option for you?

Earn $10 Of Free Bitcoin From Brian Phobos!  

Thank you for reading my post and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

With Youtube TV do you have the ability to flip channels? I cut cable probably two years ago and that is one thing I miss the most is being able to aimlessly flip channels and see if anything interesting is on. I have Netflix and Amazon and me and my gf like to watch a show while we eat dinner since that's the litle bit of tv time we typically get but we'll sit there flipping tryin to find something for 45 minutes and still not find anything where as if I could flip channels I'd probably stumble upon an old episode of Boy Meets World or something and say fuck it and watch it lol

It's a good question. I don't think you can because of the way the interface is. I'm mainly looking at it on the computer but I think the interface would be the same I'm assuming and I don't see anything that allows you to flip through channels.

Topanga still has it! lol

Yowza Tapenga, I think I had a childhood crush on her. I used to love the whole TGIF lineup, Family Matters, Step by Step, Boy Meets World, Full House.

I remember this one show called Mr. Cooper about the gym teacher, I think it was called hanging with Mr. Cooper. My mortgage company who used to be Nationstar wound up for some reason changing their name to Mr. Cooper. They give me telemarketer calls about 2-3 times a week and I fuck with them endlessly about Mr. Cooper.

I'll be like hey Gina, how's your day going? You just hanging with Mr. Cooper? They never get the reference so just to kinda waste their time I'll spend like 5 minutes explaining that there was this show back in the 90s called hanging with Mr. Cooper, blah blah blah.

Yeah that TGIF lineup was pretty good. A lot of that I think I watched as reruns on a network called UPN or something. I remember Hangin With Mr. Cooper slightly. Looking at the picture you posted I don't really recognize them but I remember that show.

It is funny how iconic stuff like Family Matters and Boy Meets World and Full House were. People still reference them today. I don't know if shows today will have that kind of longevity just because there are so many sources of entertainment now and so many channels. Back in the day we had a shitty antenna and just picked up like 6 channels out of Indianapolis before we had DirectTV.

Yeah I think tv shows and entertainment as a whole has gone downhill. I feel like a lot of those TGIF shows are classic and then sometimes I'll watch modern "kids shows" with my little cousins or newphes andnieces and they strike me as being incredibly stupid. Not sure if the old shows were actually better or if they just have some nostolgia for me

that is the hard thing to know. It might be nostolgia. I watched Ernest Scared Stupid as an adult and it was badass for a 6 year old but wasn't so much anymore as an adult. lol

haha I remember the Ernest movies. Lately my gf and I have been watching a lot of old movies. I'm a huge John Candy fan so recently we watched The Great Outdoors and Uncle BUck, two of my favorite movies from when I was a kid.

Congratulations @brianphobos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74