Is Youtube dead for homesteaders?

in #youtube6 years ago

Riding the tractor.jpg

The writing is on the wall.
We're seeing more channels bailing out of Youtube and fleeing to other social media platforms. Now we can't say we've been a huge Youtube channel, actually we barely have 600 subscribers, but we do follow some mega homesteading channels and it seems each one has put up a video describing demonetization. They tell a common story. A video is uploaded and immediately demonetized. It doesn't seem to matter what their topic was; it's just arbitrarily demonetized. Topics have included livestock raising and harvesting, food preservation, canning, making clothes, solar, archery, hunting, sustainability, permaculture - and it goes on and on.

The common concern for subscribers and content authors is the same. Restricted access to information due to biases at Youtube headquarters. For several years now Youtube has been a haven for people seeking information on learning to skills and being self-reliant. Now what. Many channels have been sponsoring meet-ups and promoting community growth in anticipation of further censorship. For new channels, like ourselves, we're wondering whether to invest our time and resources to try and grow a Youtube channel only to have our content censored and demonetized. Where do we go now.

After watching AmericanHomesteader's goodbye video to Youtube we felt called to a decision, howbeit a temporary transition solution. We'll continue with our Youtube channel while feeding our subscribers into other social media platforms. Yes, the overused with problems of its own Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Twitter and STEEMIT. We're hoping that, when not if, Youtube becomes too toxic for JRC Homestead Texas there'll be enough support on our other social network platforms to continue. We just want to get our story out there and help other new homesteaders. That's always been our goal.

And that brings us back to the original question. So, is Youtube dead for homesteaders? What's you opinion?
JRC stone logo tiny.jpg

Sort:  

I am in the same boat really. YouTube was my main source of income for years.

Suddenly homesteading channels are being blocked. Even my wife's cooking and crafting videos are being blocked now. We dont swear, drink, smoke or anything else but we are blocked.

At 60,000 subs I was getting 10 - 12,000 views per video.

Now at 100,000 subs I am getting 2 - 3,000 views per video.

YouTube is self destructing in a bad way.

I had just started a channel on Vidme and now they're closing. It's hard to find a place to promote your channel and homesteading now. :(

I am currently working on a server to host videos. I will be announcing it on steemit and my normal YouTube channel when it is ready.

I am uploading all my videos to both YT and my site now in order to prepare for the move.

I hope to have ads running just like YT. Programming the back end and getting advertisers on board is the hard part tho. Will take a bit of time.

You can use DailyMotion too but the payouts and viewership is not as high as YT.

I figure that I can slowly bring my YT viewers to my new site with time.

Why do you keep deleting comments Troy Reid. If you have nothing to hide, you wouldn't delete comments with your rented sp.

Well count me in. I cant wait. Exciting times ahead.

thediyworld: "I figure that I can slowly bring my YT viewers to my site with time"
Just like when you invited the entire world to Steemit?
Who came?
That's right, your Banned and Blocked viewers!

Where have you been Troy Reid at thediyworld?

Did you give up on "daily videos"?
Did you give up on "homesteading"?
Did you give up on your Patreon paying customers?
Did you give up on Steemit?

We all know you're NOT 95% Off grid so you can't give up something you never had!

Why did you Delete all those comments Troy Reid at thediyworld?

Trying to hide the truth about you.....as usual?

@thediyworld So you’re working in another project that will fail. No one goes to your forum and very few will go to your new site. The writing is in the wall, GET A REAL JOB.

so you are trying to do exactly what i did (as per your usual). the easiest and simplest way to go about what you are trying to do is buy a wordpress buisness account for $300 a year. If you actually have good content then the ad revenue will cover the cost every year and you will have your own video and blog hosting site such as i do with little effort. no need to program or fix anything. no need to search out advertisers and such. they already have a full working adsense program that can even be linked to youtubes adsense if you wanted it to. but we all know how you @thediyworld loves to over complicate things...

Troy Reid is NOT a homesteader.

He has a YouTube channel where everything is a lie.

Troy Reid is NOT a homesteader.

He has a YouTube channel where everything is a lie.

Youtube's algorithm is just weeding out LIARS, SCAMMERS, CONMEN, DECEPTION, FAKES. Since all apply to you monetization has stopped. Boo-hoo t-bag.

Fuk you t-liar. You tube is not tanking you are tanking. YouTube will be a better place once your lying ass is gone. Get a real job troy! Troy you suck at youtube.

Don't lie t-bag your vids are not blocked. They are just not monetized. They should be blocked because yur an idiot.

Stop complaining thediyworld.
Your YouTube channel is tanking because you have poor quality and poor content.

You are not even a "homesteader".
Having chickens and a garden like you doesn't count.

You have alienated, deleted comments, blocked and banned thousands of viewers that tried to help you with advice, free labor, gifts and money donations over the past five years.

Plus, you have defrauded every Patreon and Indegogo subscriber by failing to provide promised material.

In your video yesterday, you said you were "still planning the giveaways", maybe "sometime next year".
You've been saying that for months now.
I understand that to be, due to your past history, that you have No Intent on doing so.

And your comment here of "We don't swear, drink, smoke or anything else but we are blocked"....

I call that Poetic Justice.

Your channel is "self destructing" and you know it.

My apologies to @jrchomestead.

not a problem. Respect your opinion.

@thediyworld No, you are responsible for the sad state of your youtube channel. You are the reason it is tanking. Your dishonest ways are catching up with you.

Good post. We at @mericanhomestead are rebuilding our viewer base. It hurts going from 50,000 subscribers to a few thousand.

thanks - It's all new to me here.

I don't think it's dead, but it may be dying. That's the natural order of all things, even the internet-based venues seem to be unable to escape it. I hope people will find new venues. The problem for the big guys will be finding a place that pays, for the little one, that might not be as big of an issue. Have you considered other video places yet?

Not yet - any suggestions on new video places?

Sadly no. I see people changing to vimeo, but I don't know if you can earn from adds there - you can sell videos there instead. Patreon is popular too, but I think a lot of people, myself included, will consume the free content and let adds play to help people earn a little, but I don't have money in my budget to pay for videos.

I'm in the same boat.

We should go there because people are on YouTube but we should also be on Vidme and Minds and Gab and Steemit and other places but YouTube is a bad place and it is dying.

I don't disagree. That's why I'm going to explore transitioning my channel. Still planning to upload videos. I just think we can't rely on Youtube to get the word out for us anymore. We hadn't expanded.

We are pretty new to this sort of platform, but thanks to those who are speaking out, we immediately recognized the potential pitfalls of YouTube. I have heard theories about nonconformity, relative to some huge YouTube algorithm; and also just a general bias, political or otherwise, against self-reliant ideals and channels reflecting those. Whatever the reason, I don't expect YouTube to become more homesteader-friendly in the near future.

Change happens - most times I embrace it. We'll see.

Congratulations @jrchomestead, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 5327 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $555.24. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

There is something going on (think the backstory is fairly well covered as to the why's and more to come..maybe :() and its really hurting (killing off) good topical channels (large and small). A few good channels I subscribed to have either stopped content or are in the process of moving onto other platforms like VidMe and dtube. Moving to the block chain universe seems to be the right move..imho Good luck to you! (VIDME is going off-line and D-Tube..its problematic imo)

Mu Vidme channel was really taking off. It's sad. I was going to try D-tube. Darn.

Please forgive my haste, Dtube has some technical challenges; however its still a work in progress and I would encourage you to judge for yourself. Best of luck.

D-tube is getting better every day and I have encouraged others from YT to use it. And with time they are working out many of the front end issues.

i moved to wordpress because i own my site now and have complete uncensored control. i use youtube for running trailer ads for my website now. doing great so far :)

In my opinion, Youtube is a lost cause for homesteaders. They've basically cut off anyone who wishes to be self-sufficient.

I still post there on occasion, but I'm also reposting it on D.tube to hopefully ensure the videos are tied into a trackable blockchain which shouldn't be able to be deleted.

(essentially using d.tube for video archiving so I don't have to worry about storage and it'll be accessible to everyone.)

I haven't tried d.tube, but have just started a Vidme channel. I'll check them out. Thanks

I think I've loaded over 30 hours of video there already. I believe d.tube has almost reached stability.

I might give it a try after Christmas. Thanks

@jrchomestead, If you would like to see how much of a homesteading fraud Troy from thediyworld, diy-electronics, and trtechtactical is,

Go see today's Do It Yourself World video, "Channel Updates & Homestead Updates & Future Plans.

He explains, or should I say LIES about his YouTube show and defrauds his 28 paying Patreon customers.

Also, he explains, well not really, about making his own "MeTube" server.

Troy Reid is not a homesteader.

He has a YT channel where Everything is a LIE.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19