Zeke Thoughts - Learning and PALNET!

zekethoughts.jpg

I have leveled up many times during my trips around the sun and have tried to lead a life of not only perpetual learning, but passing on the lessons I have learned (often the hard way) perhaps to the point of being preachy. Zeke Thoughts is my ongoing serial where I lay down some wisdom on y'all with the objective of helping out, and getting your thoughts/wisdom to augment my own.

For the record, the title comes from a funny Saturday Night Live skit from the 80s you may remember if you are as old as the hills.


text16.png

Learning Anything

I was reminded by @zord189 the other day about a few things to keep in perspective about learning anything:

  • Perpetual Learning - I decided early on that I would constantly learn and explore no matter how old I get. That was simple. So, my brain isn't just an emergency device that kicks on when the buttons on my shirt are not alligned, and it isn't a chore to think new thoughts, make new mistakes, learn new things. I am gonna be a funny looking fucker when I am 72 and learning how to surf but you learn to laugh at yourself along the way.

  • Anything special/worthwhile is going to be hard - If you think of all the special talents you have built, the harder they were to acquire, the more worthwhile they were to spend pursuing. So embrace the challenge. Get a little pissed off if it fuels you to try harder. You can't lose unless you quit so only quit the things that don't bring you joy or fulfillment.

  • Learn to have fun being bad at something - This is one of my own because I had to convince myself that failing didn't have to be misery and embarrassment. Perhaps it came from golf because I found myself enjoying it less the better I got at it because I expected more success. So, laugh at yourself. Spend a little effort consciously enjoying being bad at something. Find the smaller victories/progression in the beginning of a journey of learning. Be proud of yourself for trying something new, stepping out of your comfort zone, and sticking with it to get through the barriers that stop normal people.

text16.png

If you subscribe to the first 2 points, the third one will hopefully give you the mindset to translate that into another cool thing you do and do it well.

What are you learning presently that inspires you?

text16.png

Also, at the encouragement from @lyndsaybowes, this post has been made with the newly discovered https://www.palnet.io interface. Remember to claim your PALNET tokens https://steemit.com/pal/@zekepickleman/grab-your-palnet-airdrop and stake them in order to explore the new benefits brought to you by the Peace, Abundance and Liberty community.

zekepickleman.jpg

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png

Sort:  

🎁 Hi @zekepickleman! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @davedickeyyall!

@davedickeyyall wrote lately about: At The Beach.. Feel free to follow @davedickeyyall if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I'm relearning photography and Photoshop bit by bit.

In my opinion, the moment you stop learning is the moment you stop living! One of my favourite YouTube personalities, AvE, has a saying in one of his videos:

"I plan to be barely competent in as much as possible."

It's a good way to live. Know a little about a lot of things, and you'll find yourself highly valued.

That’s what I am talking about. Photography is good for the soul (and blog!) and photoshop is taking it that one step farther into more dynamic art!

I take worth as a byproduct of “I can learn to do that” and the drive you build while constantly getting things done.

I never really liked the “jack of all trades, master of none” tag as I took it as derogatory. Does put you in a good position to select something to try and master.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Often though, mastery of one particular thing doesn't give you an edge in all cases. Spend a day learning to fix a tap, or spend years to become a master plumber?

If all I need to do is fix a tap every now and then, I won't be becoming a master plumber to do so!

Posted using Partiko Android

OMG... Deep Thoughts.. that was fucking classic "back in my days" !tip

Yah man. Imagine that google eyed bastard went on to become a senator or some shit?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I did not know that.

I'll be with you learning forever, and I'll meet you on the beach in like 30 years DUUUDE!!

Is that your real name?

Posted using Partiko Android

It is one of them!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Like a Jewish cucumber harvester

Oy gevault. What a pickle!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you zekepickleman! You've just received an upvote of 75% by tommyknockers!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

yes, if you can

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85