3D Printing - First PrintssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #3d5 years ago

Well, it arrived the other day.

My 3D Printer.

It's taken me a few days, and a few failed prints to get the hang of this thing. It's not really the printer, it's me testing the limits of this thing by not knowing what I'm doing.

The first thing I printed was a 3D Benchy because that seems to be the thing to do when your testing your printer. It turned out pretty well and has already disappeared into @landonator's toy box somewhere.

image.png

Since the first print went well, I decided to try and do something a little more challenging. So, I refreshed my blender skills with this tutorial on YouTube. Here's my finished result for...

Test Print 1

turtle1.png

The model itself was pretty quick to do, but the rigging of the mesh took a whole day because something was going on I couldn't figure out. I ended up re-doing the rigging a second time after giving up. The second time it took no time at all, but I was so fed up with the model at that point I just made a quick pose to try and print.

It didn't turn out.

The first attempt looked like it was doing really well but I selected the wrong infill type as I was messing around so it wasn't very strong. That, coupled with the really skinny arm and leg sections caused all four appendages to fall off as I was trying to remove the supports that print with it. They were a lot harder than I thought.

So, the second trial ended up being slightly more successful, but not quite.

Test Print 2

pose 2 steemit.png

As you can see, I got the rigging working for the fingers and thumbs so I made him holding a Steemit logo. I also made his legs and arms thicker and attached the arms to the body to support them. That turned out good, but I still lost the legs while trying to remove the supports again. I really wasn't having a good time trying to remove that stuff. I was thinking of getting an X-Acto knife or something but until then all I had was larger knives and some files to do the job. After the fact I realized the printer came with some really small and sharp cutting plyers - doh!

So I reprinted the same model a third time to see if I could be more carefull with removing the supports. Turns out I couldn't. I lost the legs again.

Back to the drawing board.

The last time supported the arms, they turned out good after that. So all I had to do was support the legs with something, somehow. I thought I could make him sitting on a stump or something like that, so I drew it up this morning.

Test Print Number 3

pose 3 steemit.png

I had a good feeling about this one and I was right. The stump supported the legs enough and, while taking my time a lot more, I was able to remove all the supports without breaking anything. So now I have a model already rigged up that I can make him holding anything I want.

20190315_170917_HDR.jpg

20190315_173205.jpg

And here a reference photo for size and what's left of the failed tests.

20190315_173005.jpg

Now that the testing phase is done, I'm turning my attention to some repairs around the house. I've got everything from tonneau covers to VHF radio chargers to eventually print off. I'll also have to get some paint for finishing these off. I'm sure it won't be the last ornamental print I make with this thing and the paint will really bring it to life.

image.png

Sort:  

I think this is fantastic and should be loads of fun whilst you are learning. It will be good to see how quickly you can learn to do things as this can be more than a hobby and is very useful addition to the house hold items. This is something I would like to look into later.

Hi stephen.king989,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @stephen.king989! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This is so cool..! :)
Compared to the very first 3D printers there are a lot of improvement now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear stephen.king989:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

Looking at the results I wouldn't say you were having problems with them. Ok, the second is not perfect, but given the fact that this was your first, it was a test, I'd say the results are great.
I've seen videos about 3D printing but those were advertising videos and of course the work was perfect and they said it's so easy.
I'm glad I could read your blog about your experience, this gives me more insight and I know it's not as easy as they say.
Anyway, I'm sure it gets easier in time as you can see things with a different eye and results get better in time. Just keep up the good work and never give up!

I've never come across a proper review about the functioning of 3d printer. So, It's cool to read about your experience with it as a beginner. I'm sure, 3d printer is the next thing to be heavily adopted by masses.

Thanks for sharing and have a great weekend. I'm looking forward to see more from you :)

Oh!
That's cool!
That's expensive, how much?
I'd never tried 3D printing yet.

About $800 CAD. I've got a whole list of things to repair that would easily cover the cost by not replacing them, though. Plus, selling models for other people could probably bring in a few dollars here and there as well.

That's great man!
Probably most of your costumers will be kids.

Lovely 3d artwork in there. Mr. Tortise is really relaxed and enjoy how you paint it. Great work and your write up really made it more blast. Great work and keep the artist spirit up

This is an intriguing post :D. I've always been interested in 3D printing because they feel like magic to me, and I'm glad that you wrote your creative process here so I gain more knowledge by looking at your post.
                       
The finished turtle ends up great and it's good that the design is flexible enough that it can hold different kind of stuff.    
                       
Grats for the curie vote :).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33