Gratitude Day 5 – Grateful that I can Converse in Three Languages

My fifth day of Gratitude post. I am so grateful that for as long as I can remember, I can converse in three different languages, that are English, Bahasa Malaysia and local dialect, Kadazandusun.

To start with my dad is a Sino (Kadazan mixed Chinese and Indian) and my mum is Kadazan mixed Chinese and Brunei. Hahaha… so that means I’m a rojak (mixed of everything). Neh… my Certificate stated that I’m a Kadazan.

Usually people in my area, Penampang, are proud to teach their kids English and not their local dialect, Kadazan. My mom told me that she insisted that I should be taught Kadazan language because it will be useful later and it’s the identity of our ethnic. However, my dad, Kadazan is not uptodate, since his mum, my grandma didn’t taught him the language. I ended up speaking in mixed Bahasa Malaysia and English. Luckily, at primary school I was taught KadazanDusun, so I can converse a bit in this local dialect.

WhatsApp Image 2018-06-12 at 11.04.59 AM.jpeg

At school I conversed in English to certain friend and some I conversed in Bahasa Malaysia Sabahan. My Kadazandusun is not that good. My mum told me that if I want to be good in the language, I need to converse with my friend or with her… well I’m trying.

In the future, I want to learn to speak Mandarin Chinese. I was planning to take the subject in Secondary school but I’m afraid I couldn’t take that many subjects. Currently, I have ten subjects in school and the text books are killing me, there are so many to carry to school everyday.

Anyway, I so glad that I know three language so far, I intend to master more language soon! This is my gratitude post for Day 5. Thank you for reading my post.

Nominations:

For this challenge, I will nominate @arezoo, @noova and @nyakmat

What are the rules of this challenge?
Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)

Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.

Mention three people who should do this on each day.

Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.
(Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.)

Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible).

Thank you @verasj for nominating me! You can find the original challenge post here: "7 Day Positivity Challenge" by @conradt

Sort:  

Wow, man you're truly a mix! Yeah, it's good you can speak some of your native/original language! I'm kind of Chinese banana (Chinese who can't really speak Chinese), and I can imagine it'd be nice growing up being able to converse with the others in your native tongue :D

Hope you been enjoying your 7 day positivity challenge so far! (Mine feels a bit rocky lol!) Hope you learn Mandarin soon enough :)

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99