7DayPositivityChallenge Day 1: Taking the First Step

in #7daypositivitychallenge6 years ago (edited)

I think today is a good day for me to start this challenge.

blur-cars-dew-125510.jpg
image

We each have days that take a little bit more effort - I won't bore you with the details, to be honest I don't want to bore ME with the details either! Hahaha. Today is one of those days, and I decided this wasn't how I want this day to end, so I started looking for things that would bring some joy, cheer or a positive mindset - and so I made a list of things. I don't know if I will do all of them, but I know a few will get done. Oddly this wasn't on the list, but I sure am glad that it is happening.

So what am I positive about today? Taking the first step - especially with the help of Awareness and Mindfulness.

I am actually deeply grateful for the two as I seem to have the habit / practice somehow deeply instilled, that even in such days, I find ways to step out of this mental bog and seek clarity. It takes awareness and some mindfulness to:

  1. notice it,
  2. recognise it for what it is,
  3. accept it without self-judgement,
  4. and out of kindness and compassion towards our own well-being, find ways to support our happiness in conducive ways.

Not only is it important, it is essential. To have the tools is one thing, but to put it into practice is another.

Something we all struggle with, but it really just starts with a SINGLE STEP.

Today the step was to make a list.

Then I progressed to adding some nice music.

Whilst online, I took a step towards putting into action things that are rewarding to the soul, and my goals. So I went looking for writing gigs and setup an online profile for it.

From there I dropped by Steemit and whilst exploring steemplus, checked if there were any mentions of my name. Found two positivity challenge nominations by @lynncoyle1 & @happycrazycon, and just as I'm starting to feel a little better, decided to push myself to see what positives I can dig from the recesses of my heart.

Sitting down to act upon it, in writing this blog. After which am going to put another tool into practice - breathing, and hope it will lead to the next. Maybe I will update on this post later, maybe I won't. The point is I'm taking it one step at a time.

Can't stress enough how ONE STEP in the right direction is all we need to begin with.

abstract-art-bath-269419.jpg
image

And without expectation on a predefined end state, goal or place, to just keep moving.

It has been the same thing with SoulArist, moving abroad, taking on a project, going on a date, or going for a social event with strangers. It starts with that first step, despite the overarching fear and safety of the comfort zone - first steps have a beautiful way of creating interesting new experiences and provide ways to overcome fear, lethargy, and whatever else that is holding us back.

That first step - on a journey of unknown destination, distance or clear objective - somehow things will fall in place and flow.


The Rules:

The 'rules' are fairly simple, for this Steemit challenge, which I do hope transcends into our everyday life - in finding more positivity in the world.

  1. Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  2. Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
    From @kchitrah: Or do your best with 7 such posts spaced close together - I know that's what I'll be doing
  3. Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  4. Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
    (Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.)
  5. Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible).

Today, I'm tagging @dreemsteem, @aprilpeerless and @monchhichi23.

Though the choice always remains in the hands of those nominated to take this up, I hope that this might be an inspiration to find more beauty, love and opportunity to express gratitude everyday. As it is a nice way to move through a week, or more (should we take a couple days in between the posts).

Check out this challenge by @conradt here

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

That's a great first step, @kchitrah!! Thank you for responding with so much positivity to the challenge, enjoy it!! :)

Hehehe, yes thinking of the next post :)

So glad you discovered the 'mention' and started this @kchitrah! It's days like this that we need to fall back on our processess, isn't it? On the days when being positive doesn't come naturally, to just take that first step and do something, anything, in that direction often just gets the ball rolling. So glad if my nomination pushed you along a little wee bit :)

Oh yes it did! Hope you are having a good day. Much love.

Awesome @kchitrah 😅 It's another good day here, thanks. Hope yours is too! ❤️

It is, thank you <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87