Gratitude Day 3: I am Thankful for Urban Food Variety!

Hi Steemians!

My apologies that yesterday I have been so busy the whole day by the time I reached home I was totally knocked off.

And I have been trying to figure out what I am utterly grateful yesterday was no other than the great food I have had just Sunday alone haha.

IMG_0617.GIF

There was neither red wine nor turkey as it is shown in this customised GIF thanks to Moment Cam mobile app; but I did had a feast throughout the day receiving surprises and also tried to fulfill my hunger cravings at the same time.

First, it was the surprised birthday cake!


This was specially prepared by @chloephuan93 along with the rest of the choir who decided to sing me a Happy Birthday song right after debriefing in case they could not catch me later as I was planning to fix my silver necklace and fulfill my special craving .

This cake has an interesting fusion of both cheese and butter marble cake, which I have not seen such a combination before. I have no idea where Chloe managed to get it (probably in Puchong?) and it's pretty nice, but should taste more awesome if it was served freshly baked.

The cheese top was perfect from chilled, but the butter cake if not contained well, could lose its oiliness when it is chilled in a fridge. So to be able to perfect this would require great skills and timing.

Next, the Family Mart Coconut ice-cream


This has been the 3rd time Family mart has pulled out a new flavour besides its original most welcomed Match soft served ice-cream .

There are some part of the Family Mart where the soft served size was not as huge as this one, but for IKANO Family Mart (At Basement Parking 1 food street area) this was a very generous serving for about 50 cents USD.

As for the taste, those who are not accustomed to Coconut Milk that was not freshly squeezed, they will not like the slight taste because it does taste a little like Coconut milk powder mix. Because it is so thick, I would have guessed it probably has cream in it.

Freshly squeezed coconut milk from old coconut, which means it is thicker, would definitely have a different feel should that was done on the spot with the soft served machine, which is most likely impossible. So I will put this and the cheese cake soft-served ice-cream a side by side ranking, but of course if I am looking at texture thickness, then this new coconut flavour wins over the cheese cake.

(Maybe I should try another branch and see is it the same)

Thirdly, the Craving Challenge - Yangnyeom Chicken


I was rather disappointed and was unable to find the Korean Fried Chicken that was suggested by Google's ranking along with Four Square at The Curve after walking at least 3 rounds at the food street; only to realise that it has been closed and taken over by the hotel restaurant.

Disappointed and thinking of leaving while I walked to the car park, I spotted both the Family Mart and this Korean Restaurant. When I asked about this spicy fried nuggets as I saw the rating was only indicator, as usual Malaysian standard it was not supposed to be much spicy.

Boy, was I utterly wrong!

As I was waiting for my order I have decided to order the coconut soft served ice-cream, thinking in case if I needed some cool down fiery help the soft serve would come in handy. Unfortunately it was taking so long I already had 50% of the ice-cream.

So when I had my first bite, hot from the wok, it tasted really good, but 5 seconds later, the burning painful sensation on my newly recovered fever blisters (from my 5 weeks horror) was literally torture for me and having the ice-cream did not help at all. The sting was great and to me it felt like level indicator. Probably because I have stopped eating spicy for a more than 6 weeks my spicy tolerance has greatly reduced. I know for the fact that cold dessert will not help, but a room temperature of plain water did; and if this was a eating challenge (do not drink water until you are done) I would have failed flat in the ground. Honestly out of 6 piece of juicy nuggets, I only managed to take 2 pieces, and I totally hats off to those who love Korean fiery spicy. My stomach was literally feeling the burn for an hour!

(Yes, with just 2 pieces of the nuggets)

Bottom like, I will definitely return to that shop again and this time I will go for the garlic soy flavour. The flesh was tender and juicy, very fresh and I love it despite my spicy choice was error for me.

(The spicy one does smell awesome)

Last but not least, the Eat Mor Shabu-Shabu Steamboat buffet


As my brother suddenly decided book me for dinner with the rest of his family, I scrambled to recover my stomach from the Korean spicy attack with Yogurt drink and an instant Matcha latte, which helped tremendously well.

This restaurant seemed to be very famous for their Hot Pot / Steamboat with 6 selection of soup to your liking and food where you get to have your own hotpot right in front of you, and you cook as per your portion. It kept the hygiene well for families so even with my niece recovering from cough and flu, we still could dine together as a family. This is a great place for kids who are 10 and above and not afraid of cooking and heat, and they get to learn how to decide how cooked their thinly sliced meat going to be with their own choice of sauces.

The interesting part is that, like my brother has shared, it seems to be a trend for people to dip with chili peanut satay sauce, just like it was first popular in the city of Malacca; and it has been received warmly by the patrons there.
 

The next attraction to my opinion would be their endless supply of "meatball bombs". It come with the fish ball version as well where you actually have minced meat with soup hidden inside every meatball / fish ball which are the size of almost a golf ball. Well the fish balls looked more like a meringue and their minced meat is thoroughly seasoned with flavour.

I must say that the kids are the ones who had a time of their lives finding the most expensive meat to cook and try, while us adults slow down in our food consumption.

In the end I still had to help my nephew to finish one of his cooked meat in his Tom Yam soup as kids, as usual tend to pick more food than they can consume.

So overall despite of a tiny setback in my food hunt, I am still grateful for such variety of selection of food in urban cities, particularly Malaysia, where you get to have more and more Western and Asian food mix all at one spot.

Even though I was not able to find the Korean Fried Chicken (Asian KFC), I am still utterly grateful with the whole experience on my birthday.

How about you? Have you tried Korean Super Spicy Fried Chicken before? Would you game to at least try once in your life time just to feel how hot it can be? How about hot pot with chili peanut sauce?

Have you been to all these restaurants / joints before? Do share your thoughts / review here!

So now... the nominations...

Nominations:
For this challenge, I will nominate @reconstitution, @uwelang and @buzz.lightyear.

What are the rules of this challenge?

Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)

Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated

Mention three people who should do this on each day.

Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
(Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.)
Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible).

Thank you @alvinauh for nominating me! You can find the original challenge post here:
"7 Day Positivity Challenge" by @conradt

I hope that you have enjoyed reading this sharing as much as I have enjoyed preparing it.

Until then

mini-jess-smile-128.png
Thank You for Your Time


Sort:  

yummy food! grateful! thanks for using MakeMeSmile tag... you haven't submit this link to the announcement post...

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-04T16:04:36
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 92.65/100.00
Total Photos: 15
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98