Gratitude Day 7 - Any Price to Appreciation? (Log#10)


So! Last day of my challenge. Let's get this going!

Run thru of today's events.

So you guys might now about me having gone trigger happy with shooting appreciation in quite a bit more people's direction yesterday, right? Or at least, that I was a bit on fire?

Yeah, it seemed that the fire just kept burning! Well, what fire? Burning in what sense? Just that I was in a really good mood :)

And on it went. I joined my colleagues for lunch out, when I'm normally a hermit at work. And conversations were much more fun. I engaged in conversation. Got back to my office. Later chatted with some people at the discord, did another community appreciation contest, commented on some more Steemit posts, and got surprised by my counseling friend. She and I had a session scheduled, and I'd forgotten about it. I was absorbed with chatting with Steemit members. Haha.

Got the counseling session done, did just a little more work before leaving, reached home, redo the appreciation contest.

And kinda go.

Like Splat.

Urrrm. What happened?

You also noticed I'm not as energetic as yesterday?
Yeah, I'm quite tired now.
My mind kinda wonders:

Something technical?

"Oh, I knew that showing appreciation, for monetary gain is gonna screw up my brain's reward / happiness systems! This must be the "overjustification effect!" Yeah, if this was happening, it means that getting too much financial/SBD rewards is making me start to dislike the act of appreciating, blah blah blah psychobabble!"

Okkkaaay. To not like appreciating people anymore? Not goood.

"Oh, wait," my mind turns around.

A little greed instead?

"Maybe it's not that. Maybe I subconsciously made up some BS and began to make up stories and exaggerate my appreciation for a person, just so that I would have a better chance of earning the reward!" Owwww, that sounds really bad and looks a little plausible.

"But,"

my mind returns with a counter-argument, "you intentionally wrote longer to make sure you didn't half ass your a made up comment in the first place!" Ugh, it's getting confusing. "And we tend to go long with negative comments. So I should go with go along with these long positive comments!" The thoughts go on

And yet another point:

Just stamina?

"Hey, you remember how when the brain is on a high or is just been active for too long, you just begin to feel drained? What if that's you and happiness right now? You were happy for sooo long because you worked to make other people happy. And now your body is in its needed downtime.

Okay, great.

Sooooo, you, Russell, are thinking 3 different points:

  1. financial reward is making you dislike showing appreciation?
  2. you made up your appreciation so can get a better reward?
  3. you're drained coz you just been too high energy?

And then I have counter-opinions to them. They make sense, yet they don't.

I mean they might be partially true. But whatever I can do what I can to avoid the less helpful stuff!

Sorry, it's 1:33 am. Haha. I'm getting tired.

I thiiiiiiiiiink. Next time there is an appreciation contest, I'm not going to do it. So I don't need to think about whether I'm being sincere or not, and not have to use up my energy worrying about this! :P

I think, in the future, I just wanna chill out when I appreciate people and/or what they have and do! :D


Challenge Comments!

Thanks to @littlenewthings for nominating me :) I'm glad I didn't ignore this challenge! :D

Today I nominate:

The rules:

  • Write a post about something you have to be postive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the oppurtunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post. (Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.) (@reconstitution note: doesn't apply to Busy.org)
  • Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible)

You can find the original challenge post here:
https://steemit.com/7daypositivitychallenge/@conradt/7-day-positivity-challenge-day-1
(or here at Busy.org)

Discord Channels I've Joined:

MAN CAVE_FINAL.jpg

steemit-webcomics discord channel

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00