B+: Day 5: The simple joy of life, Cycling

This is getting easier, being positive is not as difficult as I had earlier imagined!

This day of being positive and grateful is dedicated to the other set of two wheels which has been an integral factor in my life.

image
Source

Bicycles.

My first memories of riding a bike are the times when my mother taught me how. Balancing a bike is so much like life, you lean too much to one side and you find yourself in the dirt. Even the world would be a better place without the right and left extremists, rather people who know how to balance the two.

At 7 my mother took me on a 14 km ride and I thought I was going to die. The most difficult thing I had ever encountered till then.

At 11, on a family holiday in the mountains we saw a cyclist struggling up a mountain on his MTB and though I forgot about it soon after, it remained in my subconscious as I cycled everyday to school.

As we were growing up, all my classmates had motorbikes, with me being the only person with a pedal bike. Frankly it was embarrassing! And I couldn't wait to get a motorised machine of my own.

Once I got a motorcycle my attention once again was captured by this human powered wonder. I got an opportunity for an all paid weekend cycling trip to the mountains. And without batting an eyelid, I said yes. Ignoring the fact that I hadn't ridden for 5 years. After half a decade when I did spin the pedals, I barely managed half a kilometre of riding before my legs cramped up. My fitness levels were that poor.

After a bit of training I did go to the hills. Within the first kilometre all the guys had ridden off into the distance, each macho guy wanting to showcase their fitness levels. Male ego and all that. I ended up riding with the slower women! Even now I prefer riding with women, they generally aren't on an ego trip, and make for rather more interesting conversation.

Over the years I have ridden a lot and in some interesting places as well. A bicycle is the perfect tool to see the world, which I hope to do so someday, or at least as much as is possible.

i am extremely grateful to my bicycles, for giving me a sense of balance and perseverance, both on and off the bike. Also the many wonderful people I have met and interacted with because of a bicycle.

I would like to tag @steemmonkey to share a week of positive feelings. From one monkey to another.


My previous days of being positive:

Family
Friends
Food
Motorcycles


I was tagged by @mrprofessor to:

  • Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)

  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.

  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.

  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post Include a picture of something
    positive (related to your story if possible.)

  • Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.

Sort:  

Should be easy for @steemmonkey: 'monkey see, monkey do'!

Go bicycle go!

I've seen a phrase that says something like this "Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving."

I'm also grateful for my bike, openned so many doors for me.

What sort of bike do you have? Mine doesn't open doors at all, in fact it will crash into a door. Yours must be a smart bike connected to the door via Bluetooth that it manages to open it!

:D

AHAHAH it not only opens doors, but it makes coffee too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99