7 Day Positivity Challenge | Gratitude Day 4 - Grief & Gratitude

It is my fourth post for the #7dayspositivity challenge.

5 years ago, I’ve lost my sister to cancer. She was 44 years old. We knew it was coming, she knew it was coming. When she told me she was diagnosed with cancer, I cried, disbelief.

Me and my sister never talked about it. I think she knew that if we starts to talk about it, both of us couldn’t stop crying. I do not want her to see how devastated I am, and all the negativity I might pouring into her. Instead, I did what most a family does. To be by her side, support her and feed her with positivity.

It was hard to accept that she's gone forever. Seems like it was just only yesterday, we talked over the phone, making jokes and gossiping. She’s the only sister I had. The pain is just indescribable. She played many roles for me. She was like my best friend, my mother, my brother, all in one.

For a little while, I don’t really feel like doing anything or talking. Everything I do, reminds me of her. I am so blessed that my husband is always there to comfort me. I’d really struggle to accept the fact that she’s not here anymore.

On her 1st anniversary, I’ve visited her grave and talked to her as she was there, listening. I told her that I admired her bravery and that she is a fighter. Then it hit me. I remembered the last conversation we had. She told me that I need to forgive Polan (long story) and I need to be strong for her children.

And, I did, because (1) that's her final wish and (2) I do not want to let her down.

Nothing can fix a pain from losing someone. Yes, I am still grieving because I miss her so much. And it’s totally normal.

I know you all must wonder what this story has got to do with gratitude?

Yes, I shall ever remain grateful to my sister. She had taught me for so many things. To be strong, to be forgiving, to appreciate, accepting, and always remember family always comes first.

I know I have a guardian angel in heaven watching over me and she is my sister.

source

And this concludes my fourth post for this challenge.

As part of the rules, I would like to nominate @inugarang, @erychasuethinks and @facttechz to do this challenge.

THE RULES:

  • Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the oppurtunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive 😁

  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated

  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.

  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post

  • Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible).

You can find out more about this challenge from @conradt's post here.

Conie_animated banner.gif

Animated Banner Created by @cklai

steemitmamas.png

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87