7 Day Positivity Challenge | Day 1 | Independence Public Holiday

in #7daypositivitychallenge6 years ago (edited)

800px-Php_bill_5_back.jpgimage by the Bangko Sentral Ng Pilipinas from source and posted as a public domain

Happy 120th Independence Day, Pilipinas!

I was tagged by @mrprofessor and @macchiata to take part in the seven-day positivity challenge. To be honest, there are times I'm sad and anxious, sometimes I overlook the good things in life due to unpleasant circumstances. I know I just have to be reminded that there are more to be grateful for.

This challenge would mean more than just posting daily but more of getting into the habit of being grateful again for even the small things daily.

120 Years Of Freedom

There are 2 things I love about this day: freedom for our country and freedom from work!

Today we commemorate the official declaration of Philippines freedom from Spain. Although our real freedom didn't really start there (Hello, America!), it was a good break from the 300+ years of Spanish rule.

Whenever I watch Philippine history movies or read about our past as a colony, I feel pain for the Filipinos during that time. For some people, they're gone and are just part of the past. As a Filipino, I can't imagine being a slave or a low class citizen in your own country, and be ruled by foreigners.

And this is a common story around the world especially during the times those “empires” are trying to expand by exploiting other lands that are not theirs.

Hey, enough of your rant, it's a positivity challenge

Ooops, I didn't mean to go to that direction. I just wanted to give a brief background why I feel grateful for our freedom. I can't imagine being in that situation so I am grateful for our heroes and everyone who fought for our independence.

The wars aren't over and we see them in news in different parts of the world. Yet, freedom in one's country is usually taken for granted.

I believe these are declared public holidays so that we can all take time to reflect and celebrate this gift that we have. And this leads me to why I'm also grateful for this day.

Freeeeedom! (from my employer)

It's not my ordinary workday Tueday when I had to wake up so early and spend 8 hours (or more) inside the office. I'm thankful for having a job, of course. But I'm glad to take a break from it after a busy Monday.

I'm thankful that today I get to prepare for my food as I needed to eat healthier food. Buying outside during workdays isn't cost-effective and healthy.

I'm thankful I get to just relax at home today, aside from some Steem activities. I just watched episodes from the Cinderella Monogatari(not the Disney one) which I watched when I was in elementary, while eating green mangoes with bagoong (shrimp paste). :D

I like the story better than the Disney version because it shows Cinderella and Prince Charles develop friendship (without Cinderella knowing it's the prince) before her show at the ball. Uhm, I'm going away from my topic haha, I have to go back watching this series.


I was tagged by @mrprofessor and @macchiata to:

Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.)

Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.

I would like to tag my friends from the SFTV team @akbarrafs, @amymya @cahlen whom I believe would write some beautiful texts - please don't feel obligated, but you've been tagged!

The rest of the SFTV team to be tagged next, so if you see this, prepare :D

Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Lovely post @wanderlass, sorry for taking so long to comment!

Thanks to your introduction I'm now curious to know more about your culture, but not through books or websites! I feel like going there, living there for some time to see it myself.

I totally agree with you, freedon is indeed precious and is one of the main reasons I seek so much for crazy adventures. Thanks for reminding me!

No worries! I'm delayed in responding to comments as well, unlike in my first few months here.

I think you'd find the Philippines an interesting place, we're Asia but also westernized a bit. A lot of mixed culture due to our history of colonization.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wanderlass from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95