You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Abortion is bad but not a crime 🤔

in #abortion5 years ago

Interesting piece

I agree that abortion shouldn't be illegal. Doing that only makes it worse, especially for teenage girls in Third World countries. There's no access to information, support and counseling. Unwanted pregnancy is something of a stigma over here. And according to some report, girls suffer (sometimes irreversible) damage when carrying out abortion in secret usually at the hands of quark doctors.

Saying abortion is bad is another issue entirely. I'm inclined to think otherwise. Don't get me wrong. I wish abortion was never a thing. I also do not encourage abortion. But I feel, like state sanctioned murder or self defense, it can be the right thing to do.

It also depends on the timing. Taking the abortion pill after a rape or some wild night doesn't seem bad to me. You've made a mistake alright but sometimes poor soul shouldn't have to suffer for it.

In one of the texts I used to teach my students literature, a women opted for an abortion because her family was too poor and couldn't afford another mouth. Fine, there's are stories of children who were almost aborted but their mothers changed their minds and they turned out to be successful individuals. But that's only one side. I've seen poverty. The kind that interlocks itself in your body with your bones. The kind that kills every hope for a good life.

Perhaps it's my atheistic/humanist mind speaking.

PS: I need your help with something. I want to buy a laptop from amazon but the process is too hard. Could you help me to buy it? I'll send the funds in btc and supply the mailing address. Is there a way we can talk in private? Say mail? Mine is [email protected]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63