You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WIP - Graphite Artifact - "The Diagnosis Tree"

in #abstact5 years ago

I see the fibonacci sequence happening and it's beautiful! I wish I know how to make use of graphite like that. it's those tiny details in lighting effects that I'm so bad at doing. I know you spent years building that skill up and it's really worth the effort seeing this WIP right now. :D

Sort:  

Thanks @adamada :)

To be honest, a bunch of the tiny details are pure random, induced by the support texture and defects, which are just waiting to be used :)

But when a bit of control is needed, eraser must be considered as a white drawing pen :

  • darken an area with graphite
  • draw patterns and shape with eraser above this area
  • blur/soften with finger or a stump if you don't want too much range between light and dark. (the larger "distance" between white and black is reserved for the most important and obvious items of the drawing)
  • refine the contours if needed with your pen. Ironically, in that case, the pen is here to erase the white imprecision of your eraser :D
  • You'll probably have to rinse and reapeat until it's dark enough compared to the rest of the drawing.

That balance is less an active skill consequence than the fruit of long passive observation periods.

That some thinking inversion to get used to :)

Oh ! and finally, the support has its job to do in the party : the rigid wooden surface gives the graphite very different behaviours compared to paper.

I'm not sure my "skills" would be so obvious if I was trying the same on good old paper (actually I'd propably pierce it quickly under the pen or eraser... I've became a bit brutal after so much time spent at working on hard support :D )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63759.51
ETH 3318.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91