My account was hacked

in #abuse5 years ago

images.jpg

Steemit account got hacked is not a new thing. I never thought that my Steemit account would get hacked one day. It was the last thing on my mind. I couldn’t deny the fact that I’m negligent and careless. Previously, I have come across a few posts on accounts being hacked/account security/password recovery, however I was being mindless.

Here is how it happens and how I recover my account:

I have joined Steemit for almost a year. During the first few months, I’ve been actively sharing posts and engaging with other Steemit members. However, I have decided to minimize my time spending on social media and eventually “disappear” from Steemit for some reason since April 2018. I have delegated almost all of my Steem powers to bots and would only logged into my Steemit account every once in a while.

The last time I logged into my account is around end of August if I am not mistaken. Until few days ago, I was really surprised. I try to logged in to my account, but it kept saying “Incorrect password”. I tried several times and it still doesn’t work. It’s getting fishy. I realized something may be terribly wrong.

I check the wallet of my account and OMG... someone has hacked into my account 2 MONTHS AGO. My STEEM was converted to SBD and transfer out to blocktrades. I was panicked for a while and don’t know what to do. I do some quick search on account recovery and quickly start the account recovery process. I did a quick read on relevant posts written by @someguy123, @simplymike and @firepower too. (Head over to read these posts if you haven’t done so!)

  1. Got Hacked Here’s How to Get Your Account and Reputation Score Back

  2. Dummies guide to basic steemit account security + account recovery guide! Must read for steemit users!

  3. How the steem account recovery works and why your trustee can't steal your account

What makes thing worst is after I realized account recovery process is only work within 30 days of last password changed.

I was terrified. Just when I thinking how much Steem and SBD I have lost, I go to Steemd to check on other details of my account. To my surprise, I am so so grateful that my account was only changed 2 weeks ago!! What a relieve! The hacker didn’t change my master key once he got access to my account.

bggbkjhnk_副本.png

123.PNG

I have done some dumb and careless mistake by using master key as daily login password and the password is saved in my web browser. I couldn’t blame anyone for my own negligence. This is a very good lesson to reflect on myself, not only in Steemit, but in other aspect of my life as well.

I cannot deny the fact that I am being negligent when it comes to making life decisions. Ignorance makes up a big part of my negligence. Ignorance not only costs us money, but time and opportunity cost as well.

My takeaway lesson is:

  1. Never ever use master key for daily login.
  2. Password can never be saved on browser and the importance of clearing browsing history.
Sort:  

吃了吗?欢迎在steemauto里设置跟赞 @cnbuddy 给整个cn区点赞倘若你想让我隐形,请回复“取消”。

Thanks for spreading the message, @jiafjui. There are still too many people who use their main password to log in. The more people spreading the message, the less people will fall victim

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @jiafui! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jiafui! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67