You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OPEN LETTER TO STEEMIT INC., THE WITNESSES, AND THE WHALES

in #abuse6 years ago

I'll watch closely this post to see if any whale is opened to discussions.

You have to come out with an idea about abussive upvoted comments too!

Sort:  

@jwolf - I guess I did not take into account the multiple accounts scenario either. If a person wanted 12 post payouts per day, they would just need three accounts then.

Upvoted to increase visibility. Just trying to brainstorm here.

I don't know if multiple accounts issue can ever be solved...

A second account needs to recruit its own followers; but that's the only real drawback.

Well, there's a specific example that I think we're all keeping in mind here, and that account receives most of it's rewards from upvotes from one account. It'd be easy to simply spread those votes across accounts, eliminating that drawback (in this instance).

An additional benefit that might have prevented a great deal of controversy regarding that account to having multiple accounts instead of simply pouring all those rewards into one wallet would have been the obscurity that would have provided.

Multiple accounts can be reduced significantly if they were tied to credit cards.

Please, let's not make credit card theft even more popular than it already is.

some people are smart enough to NOT use credit cards

Yeah, you are correct aren't you? People would probably just upvote comment after comment instead.... good thinking and thanks for adding to the discussion.

I have nothing to those who are upvoting some comments a day with $1-$5.

But those over $50 are a shame from my point of view :D

Large upvotes for minnows is a way to help those especially from poor countries where a little help goes a long way

Yeah, some would just shift full power upvotes from their own posts to their own comments.....

Maybe an earning limit on comments?

Yeah, this sounds plausible.
I second this.

I don't. I typically get 3/4 of my rewards from my comments, rather than my posts, and such limits would probably be difficult to design to prevent harming folks engaging on other's posts.

Particularly for new users, doing that is a far more profitable use for their time than posting epic blogs into the void of obscurity most posts fall into.

I'm just eclectic and interested in the ideas folks come up with, and discussing them is educational.

$25 should be enough right?
What do you think?
(Btw even I earn more through my comments, somehow for some reason, people like it lol)
And I see you already proving your point.

Well, let's get to the root of the problem, rather than trying to cure the symptoms.

The symptoms we're talking about curing are a direct result of bots voting.

Cure that. Problem solved.

Get rid of self upvoting. That would solve some of the problem I think.

Instead of selfvoting, folks just buy votes from bots. It's a little less profitable, as the bots cost money. Not enough of a difference to make a difference though.

That was my initial thought when I read this, that they would just comment and upvote 100%.
Maybe there could be a limit to the amount earned by a steemian per day. But then there's the issue of multiple accounts...grr.
It would be really nice if something could happen to remedy the situation.
I myself, a plankton with best intentions, showed my support for a friends band (the Key of H) on @hendrix22's post and got flagged!
Luckily I was "healed" afterwards by ftg, but still thats just bonkers.
I'm not sure if the flag war is going to solve the problem at hand... If it's all we can right now though, I support it.
I hope we get a great thinker here with an awesome idea that we can implement for a more peaceful resolution!
Thanks for talking about this papapep. It's good to have high profile steemians not sweeping it under the rug and rather putting out a call to action.
Take care.

I'm not sure about limiting the amount any one person can earn per day. I think the recommendation about limiting the number of posts is good, but limiting the amount someone can earn on those 4 posts is somewhat counter-productive.

I'm not saying it's a bad idea, but I look at your suggestion this way...

I am working in a company for a promotion and that promotion comes, however, they can't pay me more than my current salary because there is a cap, even though it is a higher level position. Get my point?

Who is to say your post or contribution can't make more than this or isn't worth more than a certain amount - to tell you at what point you can no longer earn on something you have worked hard for.

I think limiting someone to 4 posts per day is a good enough step in the right direction.. true... there is still the issue of multiple accounts, but at least it's a start.

I think that regardless of how much I feel I might be entitled to due to my efforts, if it's taking away from other people who are also putting in the same effort I am okay with having a cap on my earnings. Isn't that the issue, that these people are taking too much from the reward pool and thereby limiting rewards for others who are deserving?
I'm out of my element here, just chiming in with my thoughts, I'm a peaceful person who believes in equality on and off the blockchain :)
If the choice is do nothing or limit posts to 4 per day, I definitely choose limit.

yea.. nothing against your idea at all. I just think the frequency is the issue. The accounts in question are posting at almost an hourly interval which means he gets paid out a huge sum of money for something he could have combined into a daily post

Yeah. Man I wish people could jusg be decent and fair. And I do think if we could limit that would be great, just then they'd use different accounts.
Finding a solution is going to be like finding a needle in a haystack but its got to be out there somewhere

Unfortunately, people find ways around systems faster then solutions can be found. That is how it is... always one step behind. The "indecent" always have the upper hand in this rat race we call life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87