My Recent Encounters With Plagiarism and Spam

in #abuse5 years ago (edited)

src

This is just a short note that I have disengaged from supporting cleaning entities and activities for the time being. I have been drawn into a few cases and I am grateful for the experience but surely lack the required expertise.

I came to realize that it is impossible for me to establish the functional trust network required to actively support cleaners. I have met a few great people on the way and I thank them for sharing their views.

Obviously, I am opposed to spamming, e-begging, and plagiarism and I might support activities again at some time in the future but only after in-person meetings with the teams.

Sort:  

Of course curating good content is much better. I report spam to steemcleaners when I see it, but mostly I curate the community I'm creating, called @dcooperation. I'm delegating all my power to the account. Not upvoting myslef with it. Using all the earning of that account to power up and never powered down. Our members are delegating to that account and all upvoted depending on their delegations. But I also upvote those who join us, those who collaborate with us and those who create videos for us. The project is still small and I do everything to make it grow. But we are mostly minnows there. We are building the account for almost a year and our upvote now is about $0.38. We still didn't get any delegation from some powerful player, but we always hope for the best. I just want to inform you about what I'm doing. I'm sorry if it looks like begging or something, but we really need some attention and sometimes I've got very tired to do something when we grow so slow. But I still consider that a good idea to build an account together. Now, I'm running also a show for everybody to practice English, so anyone can invite people from the web and they may join steem that way. We didn't find yet someone outside of steem, because the show is still new. But we've found good supporters, like @jeronimorubio who is helping us to practice English and some other people who are helpful as well. Thanks for curating so much good content and for supporting @dsound that much.

As long as there will be rewarding social media platforms, call the rewards likes, upvotes or lots of comments, there will be spam and plagiarism. I have been writing about it right from my first months around here. I have never joined clean teams though and I don't like how some related accounts work.

Once they get someone in their target it's flags after flags after flags, no matter if the user has quit spamming or plagiarism. Everybody makes mistakes and having Steem rewards for our activity on the blockchain some people get even more motivated to do whatever to just get some Steem and they need to be "noticed" that it's not good what they're doing but not for eternity of course, or until they address to the one flagging them and notice that they're not spammers anymore.

I am simply just ignoring right now such users. I have my following list, my favorite users and support them as much as I can. I am not fighting anything anymore and not trying to change anything anymore.

The world's not perfect, it never was, and so is Steemit. That's how I see it, invest the energy in the good and ignore the bad. Whatever you feed the most, grows the biggest.

Amazing comment @acesontop.

Hard not to agree with all your points.

Once they get someone in their target it's flags after flags after flags, no matter if the user has quit spamming or plagiarism. Everybody makes mistakes

I've lost two good friends who became permanent target :/ They both gaved up already on Steemit.

Yours, Piotr

I appreciate it.

I'm less concerned with kicking mild abusers off the platform, more concerned with ensuring people who are bringing great things to the platform, need support and recognition are looked after.

There are clear case 'bad steemians', and steemcleaners have a place here

I'm sure many good people can be steered the right way with a carrot vs. a Stick...but that's just me.

You should think about joining @dolphincouncil, its very slow moving but it could get moving at some point and do allot of good.

I'd also love your support for my project; - if you wanted to donate a little guitar tune for a Steem game project I'm working on for fun, It would be most welcome :)

Obviously, I oppose junk mail, electronic begging and plagiarism, and could support activities again at some point in the future, but only after in-person meetings with the teams.

Dear @mariusfebruary, it is reasonable to take forecasts as to what projects we support, be it with donations or with upvote, after all there are many people capable of doing anything to access some $, when it comes to money, many will come to you with any trick with the purpose of being benefited.
For my part I just want to thank for your support to those projects supported and tested in which you are participating and supporting.

Congratulations and great success
Pr EV

Respected friend @mariusfebruary.

This publication of yours is not fortuitous. Coincidentally a few weeks ago I was doing some special tours for some steemit accounts. Sniffing around I noticed that a user who is my compatriot, lives in my own city and by chance of life, I also know him by sight, took advantage of your goodwill and infamously managed to get money from you, in addition to a couple of curations in his publications.

These are practices that in addition to regrettable, are totally rejectable.

For our benefit there are teams of cleaners in steemit. Who through their accounts let us know who are these dishonest people.
Many times it happens that someone commits plagiarism due to ignorance. Then they are warned, but when they make plagiarism a permanent practice, then we are in the presence of a dishonest person who only causes damage to our beloved community.

On behalf of the Venezuelans, I apologize for the behavior of the person named above.

Thank you @juanmolina. No need to apologize. I accept responsibility for my upvotes and delegations. I have no doubt cleaners do a great job. But if cleaners start to clean cleaners it’s time for me to take a break and focus on the manual curation of the good content :-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I had feared this outcome would be reached and am sorry it had been so.

Every cleaning initiative, group, or individual has differing styles and approaches. Ideally, we would want these approaches to be complementary like parts in a body.

I hope the "body part" in question receives this as a prompt for introspection and how to improve their efforts hereafter.

I sincerely hope this did not leave a bad taste in your mouth about cleaning organizations or efforts in a broad sense.

Good luck with the manual curation. That's the best kind 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope you´ve a nice day Sir Marius.

I think we all have the power to make a decision based on something good or bad. I wouldn't want to say whether it's okay or not what some cleaners do. But I have witnessed that sometimes the responsibility of keeping the platform free of plagiarism and abuse is abused. I can't vote, but I have a huge responsibility as curator of @templo and his project @acropolis. Then I can understand a little bit the degree of responsibility of who votes, who is a cleaner and as a user.

I think that in steemit there should be basic rules, but more importantly, there should be flexible regulations within the communities or dapps. But also much more integration and participation. So users don't feel the "need" to go to certain extremes.

Now, one of the things I don't like about certain cleaners is that they attack or flag without giving a prior warning. I think that first you have to teach, wait and then there is the consequence. But I also share the idea that there are users who know that they commit certain abuses and who correct them because they have a good influence or power.

I've been watching you a lot, and I'm anxious to have a chat with you someday, because you have a power that attracts attention, and I think I have certain experiences as a curator and as a user that is part of several communities.

Greetings from Venezuela!

PS: I am the founder of @theartemis whose space was born for Venezuelan authors with original content. I hope someday to have the support of people like you, to help me value more my colleagues authors and artists.

Thank u for following us :)

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.74% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I consider that this is one of the most complex and difficult issues to understand, in terms of how it works, on this platform... 🤔

A must, but very complex!

As I even wrote to you privately, fight plagiarism is very important if we want steem grow up and move on to better things. It is also important, however, that this fight does not go beyond abuse of power, honest mistakes and so on. There were a fair number of these latter which have affected the reputation of many users.
You made a wise decision, Marius.

I thought spamming and plagiarism has reduced, unlike how it was at the beginning of steemit. it was very obvious all over the place at the beginning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84