A fortune in misfortune and other cliches

in #accident6 years ago

It's almost two weeks since my biking accident. I fell quite dangerously when biking downhill. Luckily only my bike and my helmet got broken and not my bones and skull. A fortune in misfortune as we say here in Finland. How true.

I didn't survive totally unharmed as my legs have been black and blue for more than two weeks now. I've also lost some skin here and there. Looks pretty with skirt or shorts. :\ For first two days, I couldn't properly walk because of my hurt knee and all muscles on my back became sore. That's all fine now, mostly. The scariest thing was that my helmet got broken. I really don't want to even imagine what would have happened to my skull. Damn.

20180618_222741.jpg
That's one of my bruises. There is/was many others.

So the fortune in misfortune, truly. My first thought after the fall was: "I'm breathing. Whatever happened, at least I'm alive." In Finland we tend to say: "Luckily, one wore a helmet!" This comment is some sort of a cliche. Well, in that kind of situations you realize that cliches are cliches for a reason, it's because they're true.

I have some buddies that don't wear helmets when biking. How irresponsible, suicidal even! I already gave them a scary lecture. I hope they'll listen to me...

Safe summer to you all,
Lindiry

Sort:  

Is that leg better now?

Yes, there is still some kind of sensitive spots even though the colourful bruise is gone.

My knee still hurts and the wound on the other leg is still present..

That was nasty injury

You were very lucky!

I don't understand why some peoples are not using helmet when they are biking

I totally was.

I totally was.

Indeed you were

How is your leg?

Any marks still?

Not anymore

Have you tried bicycles since?

Yep😊

🚴‍♂️

Ouch! I'm glad that you are okay! :)

Thank you @borran.

Your bruise kind of looks like some abstract "water colour" tattoo🙊 Just own it while you have it!

Hah! I actually watched a couple of episodes of just tattoo of us. They give some pretty crazy tattoos to one another. While watching I thought that someone (some idiot xD) could give a tattoo like that to his/her bff.

That is good idea🤣

Had the same thought.

It really is a good thing that you wore a helmet.

Absolutely! With this fast bike I wouldn't go without a helmet. Sometimes the speed is 50km/h..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62568.36
ETH 3010.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89