The Daily - 20180412 - SIBWA Challenge

in #accountability6 years ago (edited)

20180412daily.jpg

Thursday 12th April 2018

Today was all about pushing myself and getting momentum rolling in a particular direction. Dominated by our preps, drive to, and walk on the big expedition hike today as part of my risk assessing part of the route for next week's Duke of Edinburgh Bronze Award expedition that I will be leading. 27 students, 2 days, one goal: to demonstrate that we can survive and be self-sufficient out on an expedition. If it sounds easy to you, just remember that for many of the children it is the first time they have ever walked this far, camped in the outdoors, carried a heavy rucksack, cooked their own complete meal from start to finish. (The single most frequently-asked question on our DofE Bronze Expeditions is 'How do I know when the water is boiling?' and this is despite us doing a practical cooking session and teaching them how to tell... The second most frequently-asked question on our DofE Bronze Expeditions is 'Where are the toilets?' and their faces are a picture when they hear the reply 'The bushes and trees out on the trails'...)

More pheasants than you could shake a stick at which kept Hector the whippet dog on his toes (literally) for a lot of the day. The River Wye was flooded along our whole route and was in Judy's words "very dramatic". Best of all, a real breakthrough for our son Frankie who didn’t moan once throughout the whole, very misty 12km, he was a real trooper! This is the longest walk that he has been on, and although he informed us that his feet ached and that he was getting tired, he hardly slowed his pace and kept on to the end with a lot of determination. I am very proud of him, and pleased with all of us for making a lovely (if very foggy) family day of what was basically me risk assessing Day 2 of our expedition route for next week's expedition.

PW-V8-Separator.png

Writing

No writing for me today apart from the usual blog posts and comments, which amounted to a couple of thousand words as always but which I never count in my word totals as I want them to reflect very specific goals.

20180412WritingDaily.jpg

PW-V8-Separator.png

Health

I'm very pleased with the distances that we walked today in just a few hours. My food intake was a lot healthier (something about being outdoors) and I drank a lot more water. It felt so good to be out on hikes again and the momentum is now rolling. Great too that Frankie and Judy came and brought Hector along. We had a lovely day together, and I am already planning the next one. :-)

20180412HealthDaily.jpg

PW-V8-Separator.png

Steemit Goals

My Steemit goals are coming along bit by bit. By not focusing on them, just noticing them, I am healthily detached from them as an outcome. I just trust that if I am doing what I want to be doing then results will come in time. I think that I will hit 1000 posts long before I hit 1000 followers, and we shall see I suppose. I am enjoying reading other people's content and focusing on meaningful commenting.

20180412GoalsDaily.jpg

PW-V8-Separator.png

I'm getting there anyways, and today was just one more step in that right direction. I'll be charting my progress as I go and we'll see what works and what does not work for me. And hopefully, some of what I learn along the way will be useful to some of you, too.

Peace be with you all xxxx

DLiveTest_Moment.jpg
Frankie and I on our expedition hike earlier today.

I should mention @angelacs SIBWA Challenge too - the reason behind my managing to post every day on Steemit and develop not just good habits and also develop my consciousness as well.

https://steemit.com/challenge/@angelacs/week-6-7-day-steemit-income-building-weekly-accountability-challenge

She has a new challenge beginning each Sunday, so look out for those posts as they go up. I heartily recommend giving her challenge a go though - it is free, it is fun, and it gets me active on Steemit each day in a way that brings value to others, so imagine what doing the challenge can do for you! :-) See you in the challenge posts ;-)

PW-V8-Separator.png

Sort:  

Inspiring! Go on dear @powerfulwonders!:-)

12k is a good distance! I'd be proud of your son as well. That sounds like an incredible family day... when my boys are bigger maybe (they're not yet 4). You're brave to take that many children on an adventure like that! Bless you. Those skills are so important.

I think Steemit posts can go towards word count. Might not be on the WIP you meant to get to, but it's still writing, and you do it well. Keep posting! For me, Steemit really opened up when I started joining discord groups and finding my tribe in communities like #thealliance, #isleofwrite and #thewritersblock, but quality content and consistency is key. Steem on!

It was a great family day and one that we have been talking about and will talk about for a while to come I think. Many happy memories. I'm very proud of Frankie, and all of us too.

I have been teaching for half a lifetime, leading expeditions for a decade or so, and running Scouts / Explorers for over 5 years, so these days it is odd if I go and do anything without 30 children in tow :-)

Great idea about Steemit posts and word count. I had been thinking of it, especially that it would be nice to tally up all of the writing to remind myself that I am keeping up a steady output.

Thanks for the Discord tips - I use Discord for other things and so I probably should check out these Steemit communities as well. :-)

Many thanks! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85