Actifit - Making Steady Progress. Are You Using It?

in #actifit5 years ago

If you're not new to the Steem blockchain, you must've heard of @actifit. The dApp that rewards you to move your body, and thus to be more healthy.

actifit.png

Actifit and the team behind it slowly grows and finds new ways to keep its community close. And I'd say they are succeeding.

I might be stretching it a bit, but I believe it is the most important project on the Steem blockchain. That's a bold statement, and with many contestants to such a position, many will wonder how much truth it is in this.

First of all, because it is one of the kind. Other important projects, usually have viable alternatives.

Then, because the Steem blockchain was initially thought as a platform to reward proof-of-brain, thus the usage of your brain to produce something that receives upvotes (I purposely avoided to say "of quality").

But Actifit is different. In a way, it is proof-of-work, not in the blockchain known meaning, but rather proof-of-workout. You work out - or in a more general sense, move your body - and record your physical activity on Actifit app, and you get rewarded when you post your proof before the end of the day.

So rewards come from using your body, not particularly your brain. And we know a healthy brain can't last too long in an unhealthy body.

That's why I said Actifit is the most important project of all. And one you should be using, especially if you have trouble staying consistent with routines to balance physical and non-physical activities.

I've been using Actifit since almost the beginning, I believe. And it has grown, steadily. Many functionalities have been added over time to both the mobile apps (how does Fitbit wearables integration sound?) and to the desktop website.

The latest addition to the website allows you to exchange AFIT tokens for upvotes, if you want to. Personally, I'll hold on to my AFIT stake. But hey, someone might prefer to make the exchange, and either withdraw STEEM/SBD to fiat or power them up and increase their SP stake.

Oh, and by the way, a little "warning" at the end. Actifit offers tools. To succeed (and not just hunt for an upvote), you have to be true to yourself first, because Actifit doesn't do the work for you. ;-)

Sort:  

I'm an addicted actifiter, and I'm proud of it!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm installing it right now. I have had it before but it drained a bit the battery and wasn't accurate either but I am giving it another try.

To be more accurate you have to check 'enable aggressive background tracking' in Settings. It does drain more battery this way but that's how I use it.

When I was in Athens at the beginning of the year, a friend had a wearable to track all sort of stuff, including steps. At the end of the day, I was usually about 1k steps behind, probably because his wearable detected some hand movements as steps, while my phone was usually in my pocket. So, I think it's pretty accurate, unless we consider they both aren't.

Posted using Partiko Android

I compared it with Samsung health and it counts more steps than it has to. Even after I installed it toady it counted steps while I was with my smartphone in my hand on a chair...

Does Samsung health count all steps (I mean steps, not hand movements)? Because if it misses any, it's only a matter of sensitivity, and how it's implemented in the app. If all steps are counted, then it is more to it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes. It's very accurate in my opinion. Much more than actifit because it doesn't count hand movements. It doesn't work on my smartphone anymore though.

Well, maybe I'm happy with actifit because I haven't really tried 'competition'. I don't expect full accuracy from it, just the push/reminder to do my daily routine.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yay, another actifitter! I've separated my actifit activity from my main account, so I have a new account for actifit only and I love it. It motivates me to do my target every day and the actifit team is amazing, really helpful.

Yep, totally agree! And I've done the same. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @gadrian!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.290 which ranks you at #8141 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 10 places in the last three days (old rank 8131).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 197 contributions, your post is ranked at #138.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99