A Meditative walk - Actifit Report: September 8 2019

in #actifit5 years ago

Where did this weekend go? Well, I could list the things that devoured my weekend, including house cleaning, overnight guests, a family dinner out, a shopping trip, a trip to the city to deliver furniture to my daughter’s apartment, etc… but in fact it was a rhetorical question. A two day weekend just isn’t enough.

My main activity for the weekend, however, was writing. Glorious, glorious writing. I have been away from it for too long due to just way too much going on in my life, but at last I believe it will all start to simmer down and I can get back to my favorite little past time -- fiction writing.

Writing isn’t easy. Things often don’t go well. There might be plot holes. Or you know one scene must lead to another, but the seams are too ragged. Or one character is overly developed and one is kind of opaque or boring. All kinds of things go haywire and need to be fixed, rewritten and improved.

Enter the meditative walk. I’m not sure why this works so well, but it does. What I do is I head out for a long walk, and I listen to an audio book that I really like. What happens, bizarrely, is that while I’m listening to the book, my subconscious mind is working on my story. I have these little ah-has, as I’m walking along, about how to fix things and improve the writing and repair the plot holes. And then I return to my computer and I am ready to write them all down.

If you write and ever deal with writer’s block, I can’t recommend this highly enough!

So… that is how I got my steps today. Unfortunately I ended up walking mostly after dark, and did not take any pictures. But I have rounded up a sunset picture on the bay from another recent walk. I thought this one might go nicely with the meditative walk theme.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog!

Animated signature

 



10302
Walking

Sort:  

The water has such a calming effect in me @jayna, please post more of these. 🤞

Posted using Partiko Android

I like your "meditative walk" theme. Whenever I walk my thinking process goes into high gear, and I believe it's because there really isn't anything else to do when I'm walking, so I think about all kinds of things I wouldn't normally.

I'm looking forward to reading your fiction. :)

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 65.75 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 10302 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 1.70% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Nice view of the ski boat taking a slow cruise!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88