So— help me think about this — Actifit: October 3 2019

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

Before I pose my question, I will just say that today was a good day. I got to take a walk with my husband after dinner, which was terrific. We have had so much gray and rain. And now it has turned cold. We had to turn on the heat. And when we go out we wear jackets and tonight my husband wore a stocking cap and I wore gloves.

So here is my puzzle. I have a very close family member who is very low income, and is living with her husband in a small trailer, on a very tiny disability check.

It gets more complicated. He has not been well for some time and is now getting to the point where ha cannot really stand up or get himself to the bathroom or take a shower.

To complicate things further, he appears to have a possibly severe diagnosis coming. He has been getting lung scans and other tests done.

Meanwhile, the location where they live can have some really nasty weather in the winter months, and they are worried about staying warm enough and the amount of propane it will take to heat the place with the means they have (typically the oven).

I am at a loss. I am thinking about ways to raise money, possibly through blogging about her situation or having her actually tell her story. Maybe set up a patreon account. If you have ideas, please let me know!

Here is a picture I took of Minneapolis today from my office window. We have a great view!

3FB92412-5038-471C-AF7E-EA12F1898345.jpeg

Animated signature



10485
Daily Activity,Walking

Sort:  

This is a very complex situation.
I am a very emotional person and stories like this touch me. I've known you long enough to believe what you say and I believe you have many friends that feel the same way here too.
One quick solution I can think of is to have a video or picture collection story of what you're talking about and make a special post stating how much you target raising in Steem for the purpose and state that this will be done for 4 week (month) or when the fund target is reached i.e. if less than 4 weeks.
The special post will be done weekly to update donors and intending donors of the status.
So the donations received and the special post payout + curation will forms what is given to your close relative.
Like I said, I am an emotional person and just speaking out of what come in to my heart to speak at the moment. It may be a great idea and it may not and I don't know how the community views this because any down voting will definitely defeat the purpose for which this humanitarian gesture is meant for.
Good luck my dear. Keep me informed though of what ever action you decide to take. Cheers.

Thanks so much for sharing your idea, @ketcom. That is definitely one to consider. I have many thoughts and ideas, and all that come my way will be included in the mix. Thank you for helping me with the @brainstorming” phase, my friend. You have such a good heart. ❤️

You're very welcome.

That sure sounds like a sticky situation 😔. Hopefully you are able to come up with a solution, sounds like you're on the right track. Beautiful view though! You always make Minnesota look so appealing!

Thank you for the kind words, @theb0red1!

Posted using Partiko iOS

!tip 5

There's a start

Thank you, friend!

Posted using Partiko iOS

🎁 Hi @jayna! You have received 5.0 STEEM tip from @davedickeyyall!

@davedickeyyall wrote lately about: Forgetful Friday On #Themorningbowl Feel free to follow @davedickeyyall if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you, @davedickeyyall!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 76.25 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 10485 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 0.92% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

It's getting cold here too. Today it rained most of the day, and there were even some ice pellets for a bit.

As for your question, I think a GoFundMe campaign might be an additional solution that could work. I also like @ketcom's idea.

Yes I’ve seen GoFundMe campaigns work really well for some kinds of things. It’s especially effective if the person for whom the funds are being raised is well connected and has great community. Thank you for sharing your ideas. I’m evaluating any that come my way!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91