Will STEEM Save My Life....Again?

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)


(Apologies in advance, this is a lengthy post...And I'm a little emotional as I write this..)

I discovered STEEM when I was at my lowest. My life was in chaos but thankfully I found STEEM at the right time and began to pour my heart and soul into this blockchain...

This may sound like sensationalism but to me, it saved my life. It allowed me to put the drama and struggles of the past in the rear view mirror and let me go 'all-in' on a project I loved from the moment I joined.

So far, so good...

But when it comes my health...

I'm not what you would call, an Adonis. Far from it. I'm about to turn 42 years old and in pretty bad shape. On top of that, I have a new son that is expected in May and a 19 month old that's full of energy! As you can imagine he loves playing with his Dad....

However just bending down is a struggle with this body! And I feel like I'm failing him...

So that's my situation. Almost 42 years old, borderline diabetic, about 100 lbs overweight, and haven't done any physical activity in about....5 years.

I'm playing Russian Roulette with my health...

And with a wife and 3 kids, it's a gamble I can no longer afford to take.

STEEM to the rescue :)

At 2:51am last night, I get a message on Twitter from @NathanMars and this is what he posted:

actifit

He challenged me!

Now if you know Jon G. Olson...You'll know what I'm doing at 2:51am....I'm in bed, usually reading. Stuffing my face with something un-healthy!

But something told me...Don't make an excuse, get up and ...Do the damn push ups!

It was the most energy I have used in a long long time. You can even see my arms shaking in the video as they struggle to lift 330 lbs of....Jon.

But I did it...And something came over me to end the excuses. Stop being the guy I have been for 42 years and put my health at the top of my priority list.

And I have 4 very important reasons to make that decision...




So a few months ago....I created this secondary Steem account called @jonolsonproject

With a crazy idea....

I would start putting my health first and documenting my journey via @actifit and now...Thanks to this amazing movement on Twitter that so many Steemians are taking part in (#Seven77), I'm about to dive head first into this....

It seems simple enough right?

Do 7 push ups for 77 days!

I can do that!

And what's really important for me is to document the entire journey and to not be overwhelmed. If I'm going to tell myself I need to work out every day for an hour, I'll fail...Miserably!

This is critical and something I learned while reading The End of Procrastination a few weeks ago....Don't bite off more than I can chew. Start slow, but continue to make progress everyday.

This is why I think the #Seven77 movement is perfect for me! It's an achievable goal that I can complete...Everyday!

I'm going to be sharing my experiences on that new account in the form of @Actifit posts as well as some pics of this journey...

I've waited my entire life to be healthy and with so much to live for, it's time to put this into action and stop the excuses.

So today I've:

  • Done my 7 push ups with video proof here...It's painful to watch lol

  • Started my day with a healthy veggie juice. Juicing will be a big part of my journey!

  • Even did 7 minutes on my Bowflex Max Trainer (it's literally been a stand for my winter jacket for the past 5 years....time to put it to use)


At the end of each day, I will post my numbers to @jonolsonproject regardless of what I hit. I will do this EVERYDAY for the next 77 days and we will see where I'm at.

Look, I'm no personal trainer. I'm no expert in health and fitness. I just know I need to move my body everyday, no more excuses. And with achievable actionable goals to set everyday (7 push ups, 7 minutes on the Bowflex) I know I can accomplish it!

So get ready STEEM!

This blockchain is going to save my life....TWICE in less than a year and a half!


And if you are interested in taking part in the #Seven77 challenge...Be sure to look for it on Twitter and here on STEEM!

And if you wanna watch me PAINFULLY get through these 77 days....Be sure to follow my other account @jonolsonproject

(Encouragement will be needed and very much appreciated lol)

Note: I'm having a heck of a time trying to upload my first day to @Actifit I took a screen shot and sent it to their Discord help section....I'm sure I screwed it up lol But wanted to show, that I didn't cheat out my first day ;)

IMG_2619.jpg





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://plus1daily.com/will-steem-save-my-life-again/

Sort:  

Steem is a life saver....

Posted using Partiko Android

absolutely. in more ways than one lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're doing a FANTASTIC job my man, keep it up!

he’s here!!!! dude seeing you on steem made my day. welcome sir. you are going to love it here.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You have three very good reasons to succeed! And a big community behind you.

I also need to get in a better shape, and I can do it as well... I will match 1 to 1 every pushup you do!

Posted using Partiko Android

appreciate that :) nice. i’m going to go super slow to start. 7 only. just until i’ve formed a daily habit. then it’s on lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

But something told me...Don't make an excuse, get up and ...Do the damn push ups

Our fellow STEEM brothers and sisters keep on encouraging Jon’s Road to Healthy life for 77 days and beyond

💕

appreciate it man. that tweet might have saved my life. seriously.

Posted using Partiko iOS

STEEM community saves my life everyday @jongolson
Hang on and fight, fight, fight.

thank you sir. appreciate the comments and vote of confidence

Posted using Partiko iOS

Continue to push yourself everyday. Make goals hit goals and if u miss it don't let it get u down. Instead use it as fuel to crush it as u move forward. It's all about ur vision of life and u have the power to change and shape it in the vision u want.

Posted using Partiko Android

appreciated man. small steps. but sitting behind my computer for almost 20 years has done its toll lol time to get moving.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Let's do it brother. And i know you will do it . Be healthy and stay fit to be more active for your goal . Good luck.

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you sir. it’s an uphill climb for sure. but the journey will be worth it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is awesome to see you and I know that you will be able to initiate change for those you care for! I too have been down this road in the past and like you committed to make an effort for my daughter. Definitely will provide you some support my friend!

Posted using Partiko iOS

that means a lot man. thank you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Quite emotional to watch!
All the best in your journey! #seven77

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you kindly!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Best of luck with the new project. You can do it!

thanks man. appreciate that :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00