My Actifit & Life Report Card: November 28 2018

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

IMG_5339.JPG

When your day starts with finding dog poop on the floor, you would think that it only can get better after that, right?

Wrong!!!

Angry voices made me look out the window. There was a guy at my little free library swearing and looking through the books.

Someone from the car yelled at him. He sat in the car for a bit, yelling that it wasn’t there.

Then, he jumped out again and looked some more.

I didn’t feel like going out there - he didn’t look like he was in a good mood.

That seemed like a good decision that got reinforced by a news item that someone had just shot a guy at an ATM - at noon - right next to a school...

Later, I checked and books were on the ground and all over. Nice!!!

Not.

As I walked along the street to the library, I saw a lot of cigarette butts and trash. I had just cleaned there. What up smokers? Take your trash home!!!

I picked up half a bin of trash. Lots of candy wrappers. When the school lets out, an icecream truck shows up every day across the street from me. I guess that is the legal distance the sugar dealer has to keep from the school. I feel sad every time I see an overweight kid stopping and getting an ice cream or candy. Diabetes 2 in younger and younger kids is a reality.

One reason I decided to clean up the trash right away is that it is supposed to rain. Actually, the forecast this morning said that it should rain by now - but nothing yet.

Nevertheless, I prepared for rain. With my friend moving in, there was all kinds of stuff strewn around that shouldn't get wet. I brought all of it under a roor, collected all the garden tools, and so forth.

And I cleared the ditch that goes right through my property and collects the runoff from the whole neighborhood. All the cigarette butts that got thrown down have a potential to end up in that ditch and eventually in my yard. I do have several catching devices and traps in place, but better not to have stuff come in in the first place.

IMG_5329.JPG

The garden will be happy to get some rain!!!

One thing I forgot was to drain all my watercatchments and to clean out the raingutters and the filters that catch the first run off. Dang. Will do it in the morning - hopefully in the rain. We really need it.

But it is also always a bittersweet event. Often, it rains so much that everything floods. And that, we don't want.

So, here is to a much better day tomorrow. Hoping for a gentle rain, laughing plants, nice neighbors and steem going up

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Freewrite.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!



7041
Daily Activity,Dancing

Sort:  

That was such a sad thing for the library. The people who did that are just evil. 😢💔

They certainly aren't able to control their frustrations.

Wow, you really have to wonder about this person motive for destroying the library. I hate to see that kind of stuff. I also agree that obese children is epidemic in the United States and most of the time it has nothing to do with a health issue other than lack of proper diet and exercise.

For sure. Not enough movement and a terrible diet.

From observing, I thought that someone might have placed a book in there that was valueable. But I had just organized the day before and didn't see anything. And a book lover wouldn't throw books around like that. Who knows. I wasn't going to find out. Too many angry people also own guns 😖

Yes this man just has an agenda he had no care concern for those books. Maybe he thought something was in one of those books of value?

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow...so sad :( That's quite a day @mariannewest... sending lots of love your way & a little reiki to the angry person.... btw.... I admire that you created a little free library! I intend to do that....someday :D

Thank you!! Your loving energy is always a ray of sun. So many angry people that need some good energy...

There is a website dedicated to little free libraries (there is a non profit) and some people just used an old icechest to get one started :)

In the beginning, I went to thriftstores and such to get books - now, so many people donate that I have piles in my garage...

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 65.625 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 7041 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 6.37% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Poor little library! ... and a scary encounter worth avoiding for sure.

And I do not understand why people feel the need to litter, it is beyond me. I live in a remote area with only a few sparsely spaced homes, all of which are owned by older people who would never litter, yet, we still find empty pop and beer cans strewn down this secluded road, and I know it is not the ravens dropping them off; we suspect joyriding kids!

Gentle rains... yes.... they are so invigorating.

Thank you for your post, I enjoyed reading it. 🤗 (contemplating giving your freewrite a go but I haven’t stepped up to the plate yet 😉)

When I was a kid, if anyone dropped the tinest piece of paper, someone would tell them to pick it up.

Now, it could be outright dangerous to confront a person. I think so many people are under so much stress just trying to make a living that they are ready to blow any time.

And littering in nature means that people were never really close to nature. Again, so sad. I really hope that somehow, we can turn this around.

And do try to do a freewrite. You might surprise yourself. The important thing is to just start writing and just allow yourself to write something bad - that way, all the pressure is off and you never know what your brain comes up with. :)

I know exactly what you mean, it is scary to say anything these days!

I will definitely give the freewrite some thought, it is usually what I do when I write, I just write what pops into my head and then correct it later, lol.

Thanks.

Sounds good. We really have a nice little community going and you are always invited to join the many contests at the Freewrite House @freewritehouse as well. It is an account whose main focus is to support the freewriters.

Thank you, I will certainly be checking it out.

Hi @mariannewest!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.735 which ranks you at #1465 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 9 places in the last three days (old rank 1474).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #13.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Loading...

I love the idea of a library like this, I would like to have one myself, but sadly I was worried about security, and that it would attract anyone to my home.
From what you heard him say, is it possible they were using it to make an illegal exchange of some kind? A drop off point?
I'm sorry this happened to you. It is so violating and frightening. I know this is an old post, I am doing some catch up. I hope you had a whole bunch of better days, I draw a lot from your posts. I moved a week ago. I finally did it Marianne! We are at the still very stressful stage of hoping for better times but just laying the ground work. My health, the family's well-being, the pressure on my kids and husbsnd. I see the fruits of your labour, literally sometimes, thanks for always bringing your light and passion to steemit. For sharing your road bumps as well as your smooth rides.
I wish you every happiness and success heading forward and into the new year. Xxxxxxxxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95