My Actifit Experience and My Journey Towards Staying Active

in #actifit5 years ago

I've been a couch potato for quite a long time. Ever since I worked in the call center industry on a night shift, I barely had any energy to walk around and be active, let alone do any sort of exercises. My days were usually just spent sleeping, watching shows and movies on Netflix and playing video games.

Things changed when my sedentary lifestyle finally took a toll on me. I felt really sluggish and felt sleepier than normal most of the time, even during work hours. I generally feel like I'm about to get sick but had no other signs of having a disease of some sort. I'm still 24 and I thought that I'm too young to feel this way. So I decided to start having an active lifestyle.

Planning to have an active lifestyle is one thing, actually doing it is another. I thought some brisk walking would be a good start. However, I was on and off for quite some time. For it to work, I had to do it regularly and consistently. I had this idea that I needed something to not only track my activity but to make sure I'm motivated to do it consistently. I'm usually not self-motivated when it comes to doing something new daily.

I tried different kinds of conventional activity tracking apps from Google Play Store. Most of them worked for quite a while. However, after some time they usually get boring and I saw myself going back to my old ways. I realized I needed an app that would actually reward me for staying active. Interestingly, I found a few apps that gives out rewards, however the rewards I got were either useless to me or too minute to even be worth anything even in the long run. I did find some promising apps like Sweatcoin and Healthcoin, however they currently don't have any real value as of the moment and even after months of using them they haven't made any significant development. I still keep them around just in case they turn into something fruitful, but I wouldn't really count on it that much now. So, my search for finding a truly rewarding fitness app continues.

Enter "Actifit". The dApp that rewards, they say. I actually just stumbled upon actifit by accident. I was browsing this blockchain-based social media site when I encountered a post about staying healthy and active. One of the commenters posted about actifit and told us to try it. Unfortunately, he didn't really post a referral link and I also forgot his name. It was interesting to me because I learned that it was based on steem blockchain and I actually just discovered steemit a few days prior to discovering actifit.

I tried it out and until now I'm still thankful I did. As you can see below, I've already maintained a bit of a streak. There are days where I barely reach the 5000 activity count, but comparing that to my old ways it's still pretty active. I'm now committed to staying active consistently and actifit really has been a big part on me forming that commitment.

I guess it's now obviously that I really loved the entire actifit experience so far. The app itself is very straightforward and user-friendly. The fact that it's based on the steem blockchain makes it even more interesting and more rewarding. I earn AFIT Tokens everytime I reach an activity count of at least 5000 daily. Even though it seems that the AFIT tokens can't be withdrawn to steem engine yet, I still get rewarded daily because I have to post my activity and @actifit and the community would upvote them. The rewards are very small and I think actifit even takes a portion of it according to my observations, but it still definitely helps. At least, you can see that you're gaining something and that's enough to motivate most.

What I love the most about actifit though is that you can really feel a sense of community. There is an active discord channel and actifit users are also very active in interacting and commenting with each other on actifit posts and on their individual posts. Special mention to @definethedollar, who's an actifit moderator, for being so supportive the entire time. Thanks for all the upvotes and the beers.

So there you have it! If you're not part of the actifit community yet and want to join in on earning while staying active, you can join by using my referral link:
https://actifit.io/signup?referrer=paleredsteel

You could also follow them @actifit. The link for the discord chat is on their page. You can also visit their website https://actifit.io for more details about the dApp and the project. I suggest you read their whitepaper there as well. I thought it could have been more thorough but it already gives you a general idea of what the project is about and what direction it's heading.

I look forward to seeing you around, and always remember to stay active folks!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Let’s try this again.
!plkn .1 testing

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 9.60% upvote from us for your 2011 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Plankton: Token Of Contest

@paleredsteel, you've recieved 0.1 Plankton Tokens from @definethedollar


What is PLANKTON?

Plankton is a token created to help plankton on the STEEM platform. It is created on the Steem-Engine platform, which is a side chain to steem.

View Your Tokens On Bloks.xyz

Send and Trade Tokens on Steem Engine

Support Us

Delegate To @plankton.bot

Purchase Plankton Token

Donate/Upvote @plankton.bot

Come & Chat

Discord



Token By MermaidVampire. Service brought to you by CADawg.
Check out Vampyre Cash and Steem Tools

Congratulations @paleredsteel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60