You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Actifit Report Card: June 19 2019

in #actifit5 years ago

Can you believe that I still look with longing eyes at any construction works that I see JJ?
I started as a construction carpenter when I left the army in the 70s and became one of the youngest foremen in the country. Worked on the foundations of tall buildings and most other fields of the concrete industry. Can operate any crane and drive any construction machine.
Then it all ended when a bad slump hit the construction industry and I left to become a high speed cigarette machine technician.
I really enjoyed my time in the construction industry.
Blessings!

Sort:  

My father was a carpenter /cabinet maker for many years and even after he had to switch to factory work he still kept up with it in his home workshop the skills needed for that did not pass to me
It’s a hard and physical industry and I have all the respect in the world for those who work on these high rises

Cheers

I think the worst of it is that we had to work in the mud when it rained.
Our high risers normally go down 3 to 4 floors below street level for the underground parking spaces.
Imagine the huge square hole being wet and we had to go down in the hoist to go and box the steel for the foundations prior to pouring the concrete.
Once we hit the 2nd floor above street level, it all becomes repetitive.
Steel first, boxing second, casting third, stripping, and then repeating on the next floor.
I had arms that had steel sinews in those days.
Sad that your dad did not pass the skills on to you.
Blessings!

Yes going down a few floors is also very common on city construction sights here, and often used for parking which is always at a premium in the city
I can imagine the mud on wet days must be such a nightmare to deal with

Doing that sort of work I am not surprised you had arms with steel like sinews
I cant blame my Dad he did try to tech me this and that at times,but it is just somehting that isnt in my genes i guess

Well my friend know this only!
You were blessed to have a dad.
In my day us that never had a dad was a scarce event, but today Stats SA stated that 62% of children here are without fathers.
Mind blowing!
Blessings!

WOW that statistic is both mind blowing and so scary and Sad, the world is getting so bad in so many places

Yes going down a few floors is also very common on city construction sights here, and often used for parking which is always at a premium in the city
I can imagine the mud on wet days must be such a nightmare to deal with

Doing that sort of work I am not surprised you had arms with steel like sinews
I cant blame my Dad he did try to tech me this and that at times,but it is just somehting that isnt in my genes i guess

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67851.31
ETH 3815.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77