All the Sweat for Chinese New Year

in #actifit4 years ago

Chinese New Year is just another few more days away; once you hear of this, this is where all kinds of cooking comes in.

I would like to share with you my successful experimented famous dessert for Chinese New Year

Kuih Bakul

or it is also called Nian Gao 年糕 in Mandarin

Even if this looks really simple and thinking it is like some jello, it is actually not.

This requires a lot of work from start to finish. Many steps needed.

My previous post shared that my daughter and I went banan leaf hunting.

They are used as the wrappers for the kuih bakul

But you cannot just use the leaf straight away. In fact, you have to lightly cook it.

I tried the first time and boiled it a little too long and almost all the young banana leaves were destroyed.

I did not give up.


When we went home for my hypertension appointment and moving my records to the citizens clinic near my daughter's home, by God's grace we harvested enough mature banana leaves to make the wrappers again.


Then after the wrapping is done (I forgot to take pictures) the cooking starts.

Kuih Bakul is traditionally made of gluten rice, and they are a Hokkien (clan) delicacy.

My daughter would be great at telling the story of how it was made. I couldn't remember it well.

With the refined glutinous flour, it is associated with sugar.

I have tried a few combinations and I recently found the best combination is brown sugar, Gula Melaka (coconut flowers sugar) and added with pandan for fragrance.

But you got to see how much sugar is needed for taste. It is (flour) 1:0.5 sugar ratio.

But I decided to use more Gula Melaka for lesser sweetness.

In the end I was very happy. Thanks to @gtpjfoodbank volunteers team's support they sponsored the ingredient costs for me to experiment and test them.

My daughter's boss was supportive too.

Overall I am very pleased with the outcome.

Kuih Bakul is best eaten with shredded coconut with Himalayan pink salt. White table salt is a bit strong while the pink salt brings out the sweetness of the coconut with its mineral goodness.

(my daughter explained, we tried, we loved it)

It can also be kept long term if you want to slice it. Dry them up and place in the fridge; later just steam it and mix with fresh shredded coconut and salt and you are good to enjoy.

Remember to have it with unsweetened Chinese tea / green tea 🍵 . They can be very sweet and hard to digest.

Hope you like my sharing for today.

Best wishes,
Rene

10594
Daily Activity, House Chores, Walking

Sort:  

They are very yummy, we will always support those who are creative and able to work out of what they have.

Best regards,
Daily Bread Food Bank

Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed it much.

Best wishes,
Rene

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 54.75 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 10594 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 0.62% upvote via @actifit account.
The following boosts were applied to your post:


Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count, recent rewarded activity and owned AFITX.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT and AFITX tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48