Autumn Abundance: September 12 2018

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

I love seeing how the changing seasons are reflected in the contents of the organic vegetable box that is delivered on Wednesday.

IMG_2152.JPG
The first squash to arrive, along with beans and corn. An overgrown courgette, some heirloom tomatoes, oakleaf lettuce, new season onions and carrots. I'd also chosen some cavolo nero or black cabbage.

I haven't been having them for a week or two - holidays and the bounty from my own garden. But this week, the cupboard was looking decidedly bare and I refreshed my weekly order.

IMG_2153.JPG
Heirloom tomatoes, beans and olives for lunch with fresh bread and a lemon and olive oil dressing.

I've found three recipes for the cavolo nero:
Jamie Oliver's Ribollita - a lovely, thick rich peasant vegetable stew.
Nigel Slater's orzo, black cabbage and smoked cheese - a glorified macaroni cheese with double cream (in the oven now) and
Blue cheese mash with cavolo nero.

This last recipe is on a page of recipes for autumn vegetables and includes chard with raisins and pine nuts and a lovely little recipe for baked squash - perfect for the one in my box.

IMG_2162.JPG
Macaroni with cavolo nero and smoked cheese "toothsome" indeed!

By about 4pm I had done about 2,000 steps, so I stepped out for a turn round the Botanic Garden - absolutely beautiful in the late afternoon sun. I was pleased to see some other latecomers in there, a couple intently reading the information board about poison ivy, a little family with their dad, young lovers chatting on one of the benches.

IMG_2156.JPG
The carp pond in the Botanic Garden - one of my favourite spots.

IMG_2159.JPG

IMG_2155.JPG
And the vine-covered walkway behind the pond.



10378
Daily Activity, Walking

Sort:  

hola te di un voto, si me sigues te sigo!

Welcome! One does not normally vote for your own comments, but good luck.

Welcome! One does not
Normally vote for your own
Comments, but good luck.

                 - shanibeer


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thank you @haikubot you made me smile 😊

Yoohoo @makesushi how are you today?

👍🎺😳😳

Beautiful place ...and beautiful bounty!

I do love the gardens 😍

First time I heard about black cabbage and started to research it. Might be something for our garden or even a big pot on the balcony - it looks great and you can harvest a lot of leaves from it.

It's very tasty, like kale only darker. It's very hardy so good for north European winters.

Lovely photos and thanks for the links to the recipes of that cavolo nero, @shanibeer. We still have some of that left so it's nice to see how to cook it properly (rather than just steam it).

chard with raisins and pine nuts - hmmmmmm (the german 'yum') I love dishes which combine sweet and salty flavors, but sadly my husband is no fan of raisins :-DD
As you asked for photos and wrote about cavalo nero: I was last year in a outdoor museum which reconstructs the rural living from middle ages up to the 19. century and they also cultivate old vegetables. I was very impressed by this kale variety:
20171031_132030387_iOS.jpg
It looked like prehistoric trees :-D

Congrats! You just reached the top level milestone via using Actifit fitness tracker and provided Proof of Activity!
You accordingly gained 100 Actifit tokens for attaining 10378 tracked activity!
You also received an 3.44% upvote via @actifit account.

Hi @shanibeer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.259 which ranks you at #19636 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 25 places in the last three days (old rank 19661).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 487 contributions, your post is ranked at #316.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97