Stormy Weather: November 28 2018

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

IMG_2335.PNG

We're having some weather here, mainly, as it says, a moderate breeze, followed by solid walls of rain in the afternoon.

I snuck out in the morning. It's very mild and those breezes were invigorating, tempting you out. Earlier, I'd been investigating @cleanplanet and realised it was a while since I'd done any plogging.

IMG_2336.JPG!

I didn't have to go far - just to the end of my drive - to find the first piece of litter. I doubled back and picked up a bag and some disposable gloves and trekked round to the bus stop, usually the worst place for wrappers and cans.

IMG_2339.JPG

It wasn't too bad today. I think the moderate breeze might have removed most of it. Maybe half a bagful in a 50 yard stretch of road.

IMG_2340.JPG

It seemed like I was the only person out today. Once I turned of the main A6, I didn't see a person or a vehicle. It was that quiet time of day (it's a different story after 2.30pm when people starting moving to pick up children from school) but even so, no one?

IMG_2341.JPG

No one here, either. Is there something I should know?

IMG_2342.JPG

Still no one. No litter either. Spooky.

IMG_2343.JPG

The Garden was deserted, too. I passed one of the gardeners up by the Desert House and that was it. I had the whole 16 acres to myself. Just how I like it :).

IMG_2344.JPG

The Summer House has a new feature - a Book Exchange. A lovely idea. I picked out the nicest books and set them out on the top. Really, it needs a few chairs and a rug. That rack you can just see on the right, at the top it says "information" - not a thing in it. I think I might adopt the Summer House as my project. I wonder if I could get squatter's rights?

That little jaunt and the back and forth with the litter came to 4.25k. Made the rest of the steps up with a trip to the Co-op for some baby pickled gherkins. I know - it was essential.



10311
Walking

Sort:  

I can't believe how warm it is! Lets hope temperatures plummet before I get back in 3 weeks time. Currently a 'balmy' 36C here!

Posted using Partiko Android

You're in the uk for Christmas? We should try an impromptu meet-up, maybe lure some others out in your neck of the woods. I don't know what's happened to the quality of the photographs, they seem to lose something in the transition from ipad to laptop, but the book on the top right is about trains. I picked it out for you. The other two are craft books for @needleworkmonday people.

I think thats perhaps a great idea, but possibly the Midlands is a better location. I know @teamhumble is around Burton somehwere. I have a big window as Im home from 17th December to 24th of Jan so I'm completely flexible.
This more transparent account will be my primary account from now on, time to put Nathen to rest and be Martin, and slowly transition and reset my 'following' to genuine things and people I like and hunt out some nice communities to follow as well as stuff to learn about which is genuinely the sole reason I joined in the first place. Thanks to you I just found Clean Planet , and @dollaraday looks interesting and supports some charities Id choose to support myself.
I can always go back and let Nathen off the leash once in a while if I really find it necessary to ruffle some feathers and I need to let off Steem ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

There's some plans afoot for the midlands already, may be discussed on @pennsif's radio show this evening. I was thinking a more casual, meet in a nice pub for lunch kind of thing. I'm imagining that you'll be near Leeds? It must have one of those old-fashioned grand hotels? Or maybe there's somewhere nicer. I can get a train directly to Leeds from Leicester (and I've never been there).

Leeds was one of the places that my dad used to go to work as a steeplejack when I was tiny. Along with Preston and Blackburn, it's stuck in my memory. What was he thinking, working on chimneys with no safety harness or scaffolding, away from his wife and three young children for most of the week. I remember it still being dark on Monday mornings, he and my mum packing his bag with provisions for the week and throwing in a packet of loose leaf PG Tips.

Enjoy your new (old?) self 😍

ahh well please come to Leeds. Its a nice compact City centre and of course we have some lovely old hotels, including the Queens which is actually at the station :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi Martin. It would be great if you would like to support @adollaraday, and you are welcome to attend the UK Steem Virtual Meetups that Shanibeer mentions.



Hi @shanibeer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.261 which ranks you at #8046 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 25 places in the last three days (old rank 8021).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 339 contributions, your post is ranked at #309.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Depressing.

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 65 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 10311 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 6.31% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Heh! in the top 10 actifiters! Thank you @actifit!
#10 @shanibeer 32 10311 65 Tokens 6.31% post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99