You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Walking&thinking - ActiFit journals (2.12.2018.)

in #actifit5 years ago

I would think that any device that measures distances would have to be calibrated and so it probably has a very short default "step distance" that it uses to calculate the distances from GPS location to another GPS location.
Not everyone's stride or step spans the same distance, some are longer and some are shorter.
Normally I won't even look at an actifit blog post , but since it was you I gave you the benefit of my two cents worth.

Sort:  

Thanks for that explanation. It was the first thing that came to my mind too but the thing is... GPS was off the entire time, I did not turn it on once in the entire day and do not like it very much. It empties my battery so I avoid it :)

It may be that it uses some other way to calculate position like the cell towers do with triangulation from them. I don't know, just guessing again. The phone company knows where the phone is at all times when it is powered on, even phones that aren't connected with a service plan can make emergency phone calls here to the emergency 911 number.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62841.54
ETH 3040.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92