Annoyed by all the Actifit posts...

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

Am I the only one who is sometimes annoyed by all the Actifit posts in the feeds of people? On Facebook, I often unfriend or block people who spam the feed with content that I am not interested in. And, yesterday it came to my mind that I do not like following people whose feed is 80% Actifit posts.

actifit.jpg

Understand me correctly... I love exercising and I am a big fan of sports. But, the fact that you have to post it to Steemit and spam your feed with a new post whenever you move around makes your feed less interesting (at least to me). Maybe I am wrong? Maybe I have misunderstood something? But, at least... if I see someone day after day in my feed, and all I see is their Actifit-reports, it is very likely that I will stop following them because they pollute my very own feed.

What do you guys think? I would love to hear what you all think, especially those of you who actually use Actifit?

And again, I actually considered using Actifit myself for a moment, but I wouldn't want to actually post those Actifit reports to my Steemit account, so I skipped it all...

Thanks for reading!

More articles about VPN providers, cryptocurrencies, and all sorts of stuff can be found at www.ipaddressguide.org

Sort:  

You should reconsider using Actifit. It’s entirely up to you how you want to use it. My approach has always been for it to be part of my posting. It’s a way to remind me that every time I spend time on social media, I also balance it out with exercise. Else, I’d be a whale and not the rich kind.

I don’t like a lot of the reports myself and I don’t enjoy some of the behaviours, but that applies to all of the block chain. I have a specific interest in the kind of fitness-conscious individuals I’m seeking and the type of posts. I’m just looking for encouragement, which is why the app attracted me. Actifit is still young and I’m hoping with time, a more diverse range of people will participate.

I really see the report as a link address, and an appendix to my posts. It keeps me connected to the platform. Why would anyone look negatively upon an app that encourages us to look after ourselves. We’ve enough self-appointed experts pontificating on how we should live our lives, Self-promotion, posting cutesy pictures or videos no one actually watches. Why would a fitness report that actually did some real positive affect to a person’s life be offensive and less interesting? It’s been well establish most don’t read posts anyway.

Reporting on fitness is never a bad thing. But I would prefer people treat it as a proper post and try to be a little engaging. I don’t think we should hide our reports in another account as if it’s something to be ashamed of. It’s part of who we are. And if it’s too boring for you, it just wasn’t meant to be. 😛

Thanks a lot for your long and honest comment. I totally agree with you that exercise is great, and we should absolutely not be ashamed of sharing such fantastic stuff, and by doing so, encouraging others to exercise. I love running and walking myself, so that is not the problem!

The only minus I see, is that if someone posts 8 posts a week, and seven of those are Actifit posts where they do not even add their own pictures, it will turn very boring to the people actually following that person, which in the end will lead to a hard time for that person to get votes and comments, as people will stop following that person... So, it would be great if sharing those Actifit reports could be made in a more intriguing and interesting way, which would make it interesting to read for others, and as a result, inspire even more people to move their body :)

I have a second account for Actifiting. I think it's a basic rule of blogging that topics that are too different than the regular feed, should be in different blogs altogether.

Although, Steemit isn't just for bloggers but also for those who want to post just one picture or just oneliners about "what I did / ate today" or "how much I ran / lifted today" because of the rewards. I don't wan't to read that kind of shortposts so why would I post that myself?

That being said I always try to add at least one photo also to the Actifit post (I edit it in Steemit immediately after I've posted it from my phone) and write little more interesting things than just: "walked / worked / did fitness this much today". I try to write something about exercising and I try to avoid those topics that I write in my other accounts. Although that doesn't always happen because I haven't delegated that much SP to my Actifit account and if I post every day an Actifit post and edit it, I'm bound to run out of resources. But that's okay.

And of course, I follow different people on my Actifit account than for instance this one. So I upvote different people too.

Creating a second account for Actifit actually is a really good idea :) Thanks a lot for your feedback, it really was creative, informative and packed with good stuff!

I agree they are very annoying and make my feed look extremely ugly. I try to through in a picture as often as possible but that doesn't change the fact that it is still a daily report card on my feed that can't be deleted..

I guess many people just make new accounts to post it on but that seems annoying too, having to deal with multiple accounts..

But they do it for exposure, for advertising..

Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts !:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77