Knowing My Lane

in #activism2 years ago

Since my most recent post was a bit off the beaten path, I want to get current.

In March, I started a job supporting an investment firm. I support internal employees, financial advisors. and end clients. I believe my diverse tech support experience, ranging from; employees of biotech firms, to ISP customers, to the crew of river barges, was a reason they brought me on board. Most of my calls are what you expect a tier 1 help desk to be, password resets and unlocks. I did have a blue screen issue that required me to boot a laptop into safe mode, and I assist with terminating user accounts and capturing snapshots of systems.

I have gotten back into activism too! The release of a draft Supreme Court opinion in May that indicated the overturn of Roe v Wade put me in contact with reproductive rights activists, and some new organizations. One of these was Rise Up 4 Abortion Rights. They have adopted the direct action tactics of groups like ACT-UP or animal liberation activists. They disrupted a church service and a staged banner drop at a Los Angeles Dodgers baseball game.

The group has chapters all across the country, but not in Harrisburg, PA. My first instinct was to reach out to the Philadelphia or Baltimore chapter and ask for advice on organizing. There is the matter of how appropriate it is for a 47-year old, white, cishet, man to be organizing a reproductive rights group. This type of organization is something that a woman, especially a woman of color, should probably be leading. Is that woman in the Harrisburg area?

I could lend a hand to the chapters in Baltimore or Philadelphia, perhaps they could find a use for Safespace, once I get it to work. I could teach a class on infosec, or help set up a blog.

I may be evolving as a activist, learning where my lane is, and knowing when those who bleed need to take the lead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75