My Personal Benefits From Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV) and Honey

in #acvandhoney7 years ago

20160506_164232-horz.jpg
I have read about so many good effects of apple cider vinegar or ACV for short. I knew about it for a long time but never dared to try it only until early of 2015, around April. I was diagnosed a diabetic about 5 years ago I think so I was hesitant to try any other medication unless my maintenance. Also being a nurse and having a brother as a doctor, we are more inclined to use science as a cure. But I was also open to herbal and natural cures. So I was willing to try it. Also they mentioned mostly using a certain brand of ACV, the BRAGGs brand with the “mother”. Since it is not common here, I was wondering how I will get hold of it. They recommend Braggs because it is organic. Now “the mother” is strands of proteins, enzymes and friendly bacteria that give the product a murky, cobweb-like appearance. Found only in organic ACV like Braggs. These are what gives good benefits.
Since I love to do online shopping I searched the internet. If I order from abroad it was expensive. I saw some local one (well in Manila) selling but they were also expensive. I was torn, I wanted to try it but could not afford it. So I just kept reading about it. To take this mixture you are supposed to mix 1 tablespoon of ACV in 80z of warm, not hot, water, but I use half a cup. Then add 1 teaspoon of pure honey. Then drink it before breakfast in the morning. You can take it 3 times a day if you want depending on what you want to achieve. But if only morning and night, take it just before sleeping at least 1 hour after dinner.
A friend mentioned she bought some ACV but not Braggs but had “the mother”. I was from Australia and already had honey. So I got 2 bottles (they were cheap 340 pesos for 1 bottle). My first taste was not very good. I nearly choked. It was kind of strong. But I forced myself to drink it slowly. Later it was not bad. Just imagine drinking vinegar instead of coffee early in the morning. But they say once you take the acidic vinegar it becomes alkaline.
13009919_10206708534211525_770497555_o.jpg
RABADABA_20160710_061602_-635083964.jpg
One time when I went to a newly-opened healthy food store I saw a bottle! Yehey it was big and it cost around 700 pesos for 1 quart. Still way cheaper than online which was around 900 pesos plus shipping. So to test it I bought one bottle. I also bought pure honey from the barrios here where people make them straight and bottle them without preservatives.
As the days went by, I got used to drinking it. I was like drinking diluted sweet and sour sauce. I have been taking it since April 2015 till now, over a year. So far I am happy with the results. Not all the benefits but those that I really need. You won’t get all the benefits because some you may not need.
So here I will share what benefits are to be expected and what I availed, hehe.

  1. Helps lower blood sugar and helps fight Diabetes.
    Since I am already a type 2 Diabetic, I was hoping it wold help lower my sugar, helping the medications I take. Every year I would have my blood works and regular check-up. I try to have it at least once to twice a year if I am not feeling well then I will have an extra check-up. At our age (over 50), it is recommended we get yearly check-ups. My fasting blood sugar (FBS) would always be above normal which is 6. My highest was 20 before the ACV and my HbA1c which is a Diabetes control test and normal is 4.8-5.9. Mine was 13.07 and my brother (who is also diabetic) said mine was higher than his. WOW! I was already taking medication so my doctor had to adjust and increase dosages. I tried the ACV (first without her knowledge) and after 3 months I went back for a check-up with a smile. My FBS was 8.66 and my HbA1c was now 6.94. Then I told her. She said she also read about it but only experienced it with me. So she gave me a go signal to continue as long as I do not stop my maintenance. So as of now my FBS is within range not below but just a little over sometimes goes down and same with my HbA1c. They have not gone up again that high.
  2. Helps in digestion and other digestive ailments.
    One is constipation. I have been experiencing constipation on and off for a long time. Mostly on. It is very painful and uncomfortable. After drinking the ACV, it did not take effect right away but after 2 weeks I suddenly had and urge early morning and it was easy. Ever since my bowel movement have been regular and easy. Sometimes an occasional constipation but rare. Happy tummy!
  3. Helps you sleep better, helps insomnia.
    I never slept well at night. Sometimes I would be on the laptop till 10-12 at night. Even when I turn it off and try to go to sleep, I still would not be able to. I turn on the TV hoping it would make me sleepy. If I do fall asleep, I would wake up often. Sometimes to go to the bathroom or sometimes for no reason. Then it would be hard for me to sleep again. Again after 2 weeks I noticed that around 9 pm I would be yawning. I would turn off the computer and the TV. I was surprised that I would fall asleep right away and maybe wake up once for nature’s call. But it would still be easy to go back to sleep. Made me feel more energetic.
  4. Help in weight loss.
    Well there is not enough proof on this. It is supposed to help you feel fuller and break down fats and cholesterol. Since this was one of my goals I combined it with diet and some mild exercise like walking, bending, stretching and even just running around with my dogs. I did not lose that much but was able to feel more energetic and in 3 mos. I lost probably 10-15 pounds which is good. I stopped the walking but I still diet so I hope I do not gain weight. It is also a detox and helps joint pain.
  5. Helps hair loss and dandruff
    This was one of the best benefit I got. For years I have had falling hair. I was afraid I would get bald. I tried every kind of treatment. Anti-hair fall shampoo and conditioner and even hot oil hair treatment. I would cut my hair just short enough and curl it so it would look full. Running my finger and even a comb thru my hair would break off lots of hair. Even in the shower. ACV help stimulate the hair follicles and blood circulation. The mild acid and enzymes helps kills bacteria in the scalp. It is recommended to use as a final rinse or as a hot oil treatment. Mix same amount of warm water with ACV and rub into the scalp then the rest you can rub on the hair. Then wrap in a warm towel or I place it under a shower cap for 15-30 minutes. Then rinse off. I use a mild shampoo so it won’t smell but honestly after rinsing there is barely a smell and your hair and scalp feels clean and cool. It has helped me with my dandruff problems but most of all my hair fall. Even my hair dresser said my hair feels and looks thicker. No more falling hair on my pillow. I regained my crowning glory. I am happy because as a child and teenager I had long thick hair reaching below my “butt”. My dad did not want me to cut it. But after my dad died and I was in 2nd year Nursing I asked my mother if I could. I was difficult to braid and wrap my hair up (it took 22-25 hairpins) daily before duty. I also had to wake up earlier just to dry and braid it. But it was still thick.
    DSC08517 - Copy.JPG
    21729713_10155464159170280_986099095_o.jpg

There are a lot of other benefits from drinking AVC. Helps skin, slow down aging, good for the heart and helps in coughing and cold. But what I shared are my 5 benefits from taking ACV. There are also things that are good for the household. Cleaning and disinfecting but I have not tried them yet. We can just keep trying and testing. They say it also helps in memory loss.
But do not take it if you have any medical problems, especially diabetes or heart problems. Always check with your doctor, like mine, she said it was ok as long as I continue my maintenance medications. It is there to help but not take over your medicines.

Oh there is one more benefit that helped, not me. but my fur babies. It is said that ACV helps repel fleas and ticks. Use it as a final rinse and rub it into their skin. I guess the fleas do not like the smell. I tried it on my dogs and they have less fleas now. You can mix 1 cup water to 1 cup ACV and spray on them once in a while before you brush. I also gives them a healthy coat of fur.
DSCN0098 (1024x768).jpg
My Baby Chabita

So I still take AVC with honey every morning before breakfast. Sometime I take it 1 hour before I sleep if I feel like I cannot sleep well. If I had a bad day or if I feel restless and stressed I would drink at night too. So it would help me relax. Now I also add ½ to 1 teaspoon of turmeric with my ACV. It also has the same benefits and more. But of course with the approval of my physician. There are a lot of stores selling them now. It has also become cheaper. It is now only 340+ pesos for the big one and 200 pesos for the smaller one at SM City, Iloilo. Philippines.

So as with all kinds of medication, natural means or herbal medicines, not all will work the same for different people. For some maybe better and for some might not work at all. Don't forget to ask your doctor first before trying any other kind of treatment or medicine. Be careful.

So it is up to your discretion if you would like to try it. I hope this article will help some of you.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Apple cider vinegar is made by fermenting the sugars from apples. This turns them into acetic acid, the active ingredient in vinegar.. Thanks for sharing a very informative article. 😊

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @purpledaisy57 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

Very informative sis. My mom is taking this too and it is really effective for her. I tried it too but I almost vomit because of its strong taste. Lol! I suggested this to my boyfriend to help in his constipation problem and it worked for him!

does drinking the ACV w/water and honey alone helps in aiding hair fall? Or should I also put it directly to my hair to take effect?

yes it does but applying also makes it go faster and helps dandruff it worked for me

Thank you for sharing sis, very informative. But, can't finish to read :(

thank you

Some people add garlic and it smells awful

never heard of that. I would imagine the smell not so tempting

And the smell follows you wherever you go. One can easily tell where you passed as you leave the smell behind.

I also put ACV in a spray bottle and spray on my sunburned skin.

That was one of the benefits stated but since I have not tried it I did not mention that

I am drinking ACV alone, I mean without honey, is the benefits the same?

yes the honey besides the added benefits just helps make the ACV more palatable easier to drink

I remembered u told me on whzon before about it mam Daisy. I used it but I cnt fight the smell and it is painful when it hits my face so now I am still struggling a hairloss.

aww dilute with water and use as a hot oil treatment for the scalp

I have used apple cider vinegar once. As I have read, it reduces weight...I don't think it's for me. The flavor is too strong. I've used it as a dressing/sawsawan instead hehe..

it can also be used that way too for the benefits

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62780.02
ETH 2945.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62