You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm a drug addict and it's killing me! :(

in #addiction6 years ago

Right on man!!! ITs takes courage to come out to say this, but people do need to know!!! I was addicted to meth and every opiate there is and cannabis helped. IT wasn't know walk in the park though. But without the herb i would of said fuck it and went back to it.

Sort:  

Awesome personal story bro, powerful! Meth and opiates are some of the most addictive and harmful drugs around. It's scary that 'meth' is given to children with ADHD (or just a lot of energy), and opiates are given to EVERYBODY. When I was a nurse I think about 1 in 3 patients was on Tylenol #3 (codeine)... a gateway to harder addictive dangerous drugs.
There's a great program here in Vancouver called the Cannabis Substitution Project which hands out free cannabis (joints, cookies, gummies, sandwhiches, slurpees, capsules, and tinctures) twice a week to the needy. It started to help people get off opiates (as we are losing several people every day to overdoses, and we aren't a huge city). Vancouver is known around the world for our cheap heroin. People come here specifically to die on our drugs. Tragic.
My friend Neil Magnuson runs the CSP. He's a great local activist who I look up to. The CSP was a sister project to the "Vancouver 420 Farmers Markets" which ran for 2.5 years. That was started by MediKatie, me, and a couple other activists. We sold over 25000 brownies (not to mention thousands of dabs and probably 100k joints) to anyone 19+, every Saturday in downtown Vancouver. RIGHT in the heart of the banking and shopping sector. I dabbed doctors, pro sports team coaches and athletes, off-duty cops, even a judge. And many homeless people who couldn't afford the $2 price tag. We did it to help people make a healthy choice. Cannabis is saving lives, as you know! I'm really glad it was there to help you through parts of your recovery. It's really hard (and even dangerous) coming off some drugs, but cannabis can help with the withdrawals, as well as the need to do a ritual (like smoke or vape something), and it fills a social need as well. Plus it's often working behind the scenes to heal some of the root problem. Opiates don't, they just mask pain and give you constipation :P
I appreciate your comment and story!!

That’s a great project! And yes cannabis really helps ease the withdrawal. I wish I got my hands on some CBD to see how it worked, but unfortunately I just had high thc herb. Another thing that helped besides my family and woman’s support was suboxone. That stuff is also pretty good, but can be abused and just as dangerous. You should do a post about that project your talking about. 👍

You're right, I should go down to the CSP sometime soon and get some pics and footage for a post. Maybe talk to a few of the recipients about how it's working for them etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81