Burning out - a true story

in #addiction6 years ago

I sat there staring at the screen. I was hoping inspiration would find itself. The room was dark and it was about 2am in the morning. I'd already woken up at 6am to run, worked all day and put in some time in the evening to fix some stuff. Finally, the time had come to write. But. Nothing came. I'd hit a wall.

During dry January, where we had committed to write every day in support of addiction and recovery, the feeling of burnout had started to creep in. At first, the creep showed up in small ways. A couple of late nights here and there, coupled with some awful dietary choices. Over time though, the creep got worse and worse.

The thing about burning out on something is that it starts out very subtly until it suddenly isn't. For those of us in recovery, this is something that is very important to pay attention to. Burnout typically leads to some very bad decisions and choices. Bad choices happen when you're overworked, stressed and unable to think at peak performance/decision making power.

Luckily, I knew the warning signs. This wasn't my first rodeo! Knowing the warning signs and triggers is one way that you can be in tune with yourself for when these situations come up. Going forward, we've decided to post a little less frequently on Steemit but only because we need to dedicate the time, effort and focus to producing really execptional content for the community.

We're still here for anyone who needs addiction, recovery or mental health support. We'll be checking in regularly, offering our courses on Udemy for free to anyone. Each week we'll post 2 really great pieces for the community. We're happy to be here but have to be here in a healthy way for ourselves too.

To your recovery...

Live Rehab

Sort:  

This is such a sincere sentiment!
Hats off to you and the great work you are doing. I would also like to say congrats on your spot in the Clayboyn's Curation Corner post

(Strange, my vote for this post just doesn't want to go through, on the up side - I up-voted the post just before and just after this one as a test, and they went through....)

That's a noble thing to do. Good post, I just learned bout Udemy literally like 2 weeks ago or so.

Thanks @hustleking - it took a long time to get to this point in our lives.

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by liverehab from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

take care. Love the photo.

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @clayboyn and has been upvoted and will be featured in the weekly philosophy curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

I came to this same decision this week, too. As much as I love it here something is going on with my mental health so I am trying to dial everything down a notch or two. It seems to be helping even after just two days of letting myself “slack” with no pressure to post. Always good to remember the priority is early intervention in those triggers as much as possible. Making quality posts is second to that. Cheers to self nurturing!

I use to write on livejournal a lot when I felt miserable. It made me feel better because you're able to vent. Sometimes venting to a wall is the best thing to do to prevent this burnout feeling. I am at the point right now where I'm so broke and am pretty burnout by life but I keep my mind positive and tunnel vision to hopefully a life I can say is sucessful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99