You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Facebook executive denies that the network spies on its users microphones

in #ads6 years ago

It's possible that they're using it but I was talking about this very thing the other day. I almost never used to see ads on my feed, but now I'm starting to see the ones that my wife gets on hers.

My wife will interact with ads where I'll ignore them. This leads me to think that they're grouping users based on relationship/how much time you spend together (they're definitely using location) and displaying ads that way.

I guess it's not too big a stretch to think that they're able to see the cookies that allow Adwords & Amazon to show you reccomendations - only this way you see what your closest friends are looking for too.

Sort:  

I have a relatively bare account, and more privacy settings turned on. And I still seemingly get the same ads as some friends.

So what now? If don't allow sharing of your private info. Ten apparently they just showed with the same as your friends are getting? That's messed up.

Yeah looks like it might be their strategy to mop up the rest of us stragglers. I haven't looked at the ad settings lately, perhaps they've modified the parameters to allow 'friends of'

Behind every successful Person, there is a deactivated Facebook account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91