ADSactly Life - Learning Curve

in #adsactly6 years ago (edited)

Learning Curve

As a kid, I was very curious about everything that was going around me. Whatever was in question, I thought if the adults can do it why couldn't I. And of course, I had to try it all. Expectedly (although not for me at that time), not all of my attempts to imitate the adults ended up well.

Curious GirlImage Source: Pixabay. Credits to elementus for girl-child, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

As well there were some things I couldn't do just by imitation, although I tried. For instance, reading and writing was something my household members were doing every day regularly. I wanted to be the part of that reading/writing group too.

To imitate writing wasn't that hard as I didn't know the signs they are writing are letters, in fact, which form words and sentences, and that they have some meaning as well as they could be read by someone else.

So, getting a pencil and a piece of paper to scribble something on it what would somewhat look like the lines in the letter my grandma would, e.g., write to her sister abroad, wasn't an impossible mission, or at least I thought it isn't. I only didn't understand why no one isn't that impressed with my writing. It took me some time to realize there must be something else behind those "lines."

Child ScribblingImage Source: Pixabay. Credits to picjumbo_com for child-kid-play, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

Reading was an entirely different beast, just seemingly, easier to master. Newspapers, a default daily literature for my household members were very tempting to me as someone would always read something from it and then they would discuss it. I wanted to participate actively in those reading/discussion sessions.

The trouble was the newspapers were hard to get as they were continually circling and someone would always read it. I had to develop the whole "like a hawk" strategy of close watching and fast grabbing. When I finally managed to accomplish that mission, I faced another problem.

Those damn newspapers were nothing like my picture books. How the heck they manage to read all those stories from it? What the heck? What a waste of space! I was shocked!

Picture-Books vs NewspapersImage Source: Author's own derivative work with photos from Pixabay. Credits to WokinghamLibraries for picture-books and MichaelGaida for news-daily, both used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

OK, there were some pictures too but only a few, while the remaining 90% was just text - those stupid meaningless signs in strange repetitive combinations all over. Despite that, I didn't want to give up. I decided to nail it down this way or another.

For the beginning, I decided, I would focus on pictures. That part I knew, or I thought I do. It turned out it wasn't easy at all to read the story from those photos. I was genuinely impressed with my folks' abilities. But hey, if they can, I can do it too!

Photo source: Pixabay. Credits to WikiImages for news-read.

I would never forget that day when I proudly marched in the kitchen where most of my family members, for some reason, were mingling at the time, with newspapers in my hands.

Standing at the kitchen door, I shouted: "Listen!" They all turned heads while I theatrically opened the papers and started "reading" the photos. I don't remember anymore what was the story that I "read" but I remember well their laughter after few seconds of shocking surprise.

Then they started questioning me. Where did I find the story? How I read it, etc.? I proudly pointed my finger at the photos. When they saw the images, another wave of laughter arrived. I thought I must be doing it quite well when they are so happy and laughing so much.

When they started encouraging me to "read" some more (photos), I was sure I'm killing it. But then, someone said, quite seriously: "Ana, this is not reading. If you want to read, you have to learn the letters first." - Oh, oh! Entirely unexpected switch. The magic was gone!

Despite my shocking, complete disappointment, I didn't want to give up. I told them...
- "OK, if that's so, you have to teach me."

Never Stop LearningImage Source: Pixabay. Credits to ArtsyBee for school-learning, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

After that, they were not able to read the newspapers peacefully for some while. I would climb into the lap of every family member who was holding the papers and by pointing my small fingers to the letters (one by one) of some big title asking them to tell me which letter it is.

As soon as I figured out how those letters form words and how to read them correctly, I had to hunt my family members as some of them were hiding from me, especially when they would see me running around the house with newspapers in my hands. I remember my much older brother locked himself in the toilet when he noticed my preparations for the reading-chase-mission.

Boy HidingImage Source: Pixabay. Credits to Free-Photos for hiding-boy, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

They just didn't understand I need someone to check if I'm doing it right.
However, way before I reached the age of five, I was already reading very well and as well able to write but only with capital letters. But that's not the point!

Divider

Several years ago, it was some broader family meeting with few guests when the discussion at the dinner table somehow ended up on first reads. The question was brought up by one of the guests known as a good litterateur.

Family DinnerImage Source: Pixabay. Credits to vivienviv0 for friends-celebration-dinner, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

Everyone tried to remember what their first read was by bringing some book titles. Not only avoiding to disappoint the respected guest but even to impress him, some came out with the book titles of some great classics which I sincerely doubt was their first read.

Not wanting to bother too much about that show off parade I turned my focus back to my plate and local conversation I had with those sitting close to me. Therefore, I wouldn't even notice when it was my turn to speak up if one family member didn't call me loudly.

At first, I didn't know what they want from me as I thought they must have been moved on from that topic. Then I really couldn't recall what I read it first. But then, it hit me!

Woman DiningImage Source: Pixabay. Credits to rawpixel for person-cuisine, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

- If picture books don't count, - I said, - then at the age of four and a few months more, my first read was the daily newspapers.

The sudden silence was around the whole table. Respected good litterateur guest smiled politely, thinking I was joking, but then he caught my glimpse. Though he still couldn't believe I was serious, so he started looking around at older family members searching for any confirmation that I was joking.

Anyone who knew how the daily newspapers (mostly filled with political news) at the time when I was four looked like and what kind of language journalists commonly used back then, would hardly believe a four-year-old kid would be able to read it.

My older cousin broke the unpleasant silence.
- It's true. - He said, and then added.
- As well, if you would ever need someone to read you the photos, she is the one! She had that unique learning curve.

Loud laughter broke out on the whole table.

Different Path - NarrativeImage Source: Pixabay. Credits to Comfreak for narrative-history, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.


Authored by @ana-maria




Go Adsactly

Sort:  

intresting story all kid want to learn a lot of think because they have lot of questions n am also missing my childhood thanks for share lovely story lol.

Congratulations @adsactly, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superhero or Legend account holder (accounts hold greater than 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superhero and Legend account holders during this period was 49 and the total pending payments to posts in these categories was $4340.18. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

What a nice story. Ana was such an adorable kid, intelligent too and relentless....

hahaha - Thank you! 😊

Interesting story, keep it going!

Great story! My grandparents always got a great laugh out of recounting my "reading" abilities when I was 2 or 3 years old. We came out of the grocery store and I looked at the truck parked in front and said, "F-O-R-D spells Ford, Grandma!" She about fell over. But, the positive reinforcement from those early days really served to fuel my hunger for learning and I really think it's served me well.

Anyway, sorry to babble, but your story reminded me of that. Very well done! Keep up the good work. It's always fun reading well-written material.

Thank you!

There is no problem with those short stories, they keep the replies lively!

Thank you very much, @dagger212! 🙂
I'm glad my story invoked your memory on your childhood and the "Ford" episode with your Grandma! 🙂

Very interesting story indeed. It seems that by nature you are interested in reading from a young age. However, you were also ''nurtered'' by having a family that has access to newspapers every day!

I would say that reading newspapers can be very beneficial for children because it shows the ''real world''. Sadly, real world stories are not suitable for children. :(

Yeah, I agree with you!

Wow, Your story is just awesome.
All kids want to learn a lot of things and they try it.
Thanks for sharing.

yes true him has very god writter

I tell my children at least once a week, reading is the first step towards being able to teach ourselves anything we are drawn to and are interested in. Next, I will teach them to check the source of the information they are reading. I have time they are still little!

That's great to hear! The more well-guided children we have today the better world we would live in tomorrow.
The only thing maybe, we shouldn't forget or allow to slip from our intention is that children approach and understand things (especially some serious ones) differently than we do. As well they need time to play. Therefore, I believe more we manage to incorporate learning into a playful game in which they would enjoy and have some fun too, the more they would be eager to learn and greater successes they would achieve.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97