๐ŸŒฝ๐ŸŒฝ Healthy Mexican Inspired Corn Salad ๐ŸŒฝ๐ŸŒฝ

in #adsactly โ€ข 6 years ago

cover.jpg

Happy Weekend, Steemers! For this week's recipe I thought I'd share my recipe for my favourite Mexican Corn Salad.. It's definitely not as indulgent as an amazing Mexican taco or quesadilla, but it definitely ticks all the boxes for a healthy weeknight dinner. I make this for lunch at least once a week.

The avocados are so creamy and the perfect accompaniment to the smoky corn and sweet sour tanginess of the limes. I toasted some flour tortillas until they were crispy to have on the side, and I was super happy with the outcome


IMG_3726.JPG

INGREDIENTS

Serves two

  • 2 small avocados
  • 2 ears of corn
  • handful of coriander, chopped finely
  • large bowl of baby spinach
  • two rounds of feta cheese
  • juice of one lime + lime wedges for serving
  • 250ml (one cup) sour cream
  • a few spring onions, chopped finely
  • cumin
  • chilli flakes
  • black pepper
  • salt

METHOD

Get a non-stick pan heated up super high. Splash a little olive oil into the pan, add a few chilli flakes and cumin and grill your corn. It will be smoky! Leave the corn until golden brown all over, turning every now and then. Add a cup of water with the lime juice into the pan, and close the lid to steam. After a few minutes, test the corn to see if its cooked. Once cooked, rest until handleable.

IMG_3734.GIF

While the corn is cooling, assemble your salad bowl. Mix the baby spinach with the coriander, and toss the salad with the feta, left over chilli flakes and avocado.

IMG_3740.JPG

Cut the corn off of the cob, and toss in your salad bowl. Squeeze a little lime over, and serve.

For the dressing, whisk your sour cream with a bit of feta, and serve for your guests to dress their own salad

IMG_3749.JPG

You can light toast your tortillas in the oven, or turn the oven hob on high and dry toast them in a pan. turn every few second to prevent burning.

IMG_3753.JPG

Hope you have enjoyed this easy Mexican inspired recipe. Let me know if you make it, and what your thoughts are

AUTHORED BY @princessmewmew

DQmZfQY1EK6YB6zssgjGfadsactly footerWMpNWA6cGJRLB6trPBpCRd7tS2.gif

Sort: ย 

Amazing recipe full of nutritions. Thank you @adsactly

Wow...
This is amazingly healthy super food and yummy...
@adsactly you just prepared this exactly the way that will make me visit you for a healthy meal๐Ÿ˜‹ keep it up...tks

Wow this Mexican corn salad is looking yummy Thanks for sharing this easy and tasty recipe dear @adsactly I will try to make it must

This morning for a long time, every time that I clicked on my feed page it was a re-steem. Yours was finally the first one that came up with original content. And a yummy recipe to boot. I just want to thank you so much for providing content that is worthwhile and shows effort and value.

ah, that is a lovely compliment, thank you!

Here at Adsactly, we try very hard to always post original and interesting content!

Glad you enjoyed!

๐Ÿ’œ lots of love @princessmewmew ๐Ÿ’œ

I'm Colombian, and I love Mexican food. the avocado is my favorite fruit, we are fortunate to be producers, we can find avocados walking around cities.

oh, you are so lucky! When it is avo season here, (South Africa) it is the same. But out of season, they are SOOO expensive.

Thanks for your great comment, glad you enjoyed my post

๐Ÿ’œ lots of love @princessmewmew ๐Ÿ’œ

healthy feeding makes life more pleasing

Now I'm following you, and with all due respect, you're beautiful.

I love avocados! Healthy and so good! I always eat them on my sandwich or as a dip XD.

Corn Salad for the win such a great recipe!

thanks so much xxx

Oo delicious

This looks healthy and delicious

YES omg I love how this is so Easy and healthy! They say corns not really good for you but its such a versatile starch, its really goes well with anything!

Thanks for posting!!

Hi @manifestlise! Glad you enjoyed my post!

i think everything in moderation is key, and corn, in this unprocessed state is the same as a carrot or any other sweet veggie!

Much love

๐Ÿ’œ lots of love @princessmewmew ๐Ÿ’œ

This looks breathtakingly delicious. I will surely try it out with my local corn here.

@princessmewmew thanks for authoring & @adsactly, thanks for sharing.

thank you - those are kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06