A photo by day for 28 days. Photography contest | Final week

in #adsactly5 years ago (edited)

Last year in february I participated for the first time in the photography contest: #UnaFotoxDíax28días. The challenge consisted on creating a visual discourse through photography during 28days. With this posts series I want to share part of the experience and a few stories about the images that I captured.
final-week-resume-2-1.png

"Ultimately, the reward is the process - the process of photographing and discovering and trying to understand why and what am I photographing."
Alex Webb


Being constant was key for doing the challenge, accomplishing the daily assignments helped me to create certain discipline. The fact that the daily topics were so diffrent from each other prevented it from becoming monotonous and made the photo-search more interesting. Another important thing was the personal commitment to complete the whole challenge. For the last week I managed to complete the visual discourse that I maintained through all the photographs.

On February 22, I did not publish the photo of the day; even though I had the assignment ready, a 24 hour blackout left the entire western part of the country without electricity. It was frustrating to think that I'd be disqualified for something that was totally out of my control, sadly in Venezuela these experiences are common. I tried not get discouraged and I went out to make photos. To my surprise the next day the organizers made a statement encouraging the participants to post their photos to continue the competition.


The theme "A breaking the fourth wall" is about a scenic resource used in the theater, happens when a character observes or speaks directly with the public, making them "accomplice" of the plot. It was a very interesting topic, with these idea I tried to capture the moment when the illusion of the fourth wall breakes and the barrier between the observer and the photo falls down.


The assignment "A personal franchise" brought back the idea of the informal businesses that are seen every day on the streets of my city. I looked for a photo that showed the effort that people put into their ventures, seeing them as street entrepreneurs.


"A lost status" allowed me to show the state of deterioration in which the streets of my country are, the abandonment and the loneliness with which one walks through the city. This was the idea behind the photo.


This image was pure chance, it's all about being in the right place and the right time. It seemed to me that I was fits perfectly the topic of the day "An advice not requested". Just by interpreting the looks and gestures one can imagine some history behind.


Rooftops are pretty cool places to take photos, several of this week's photographs were taken that way. The topic of the 27th day was "A π", although it was a difficult subject to interpret, I wanted to portray how this number is implicit in our daily life. And this was the result, one of my favorite photos of the competition.


"A fallen horizon" was the ending theme of the 28 day's challenge. For this last assignment I walked all over the city looking for fallen horizons' ideas to potray. And as it often happens, on my way back home I took this shot. It seemed to me that on that horizon many of the ideas I was seeking to capture were condensed in that scene: the deteriorated city, the disorder, the loneliness, the calm, the hope. This was the last photo I needed to complete the series, I was very happy to have found it.


final-1fotoxdia.jpg


This final image was the official closing of the contest and each participant had to publish it on March 1st, 2018. The hashtag: #YoLogreLas28Fotos translates to "I achieved the 28 photos" and represents the shared effort and achievement of those who participated in the challenge in 2018. I hope you enjoyed the photo-tour.


final-week-resume.png
A photo by day for 28 days

As Alex Webb says, the reward was the process and the experience. During February I create new photographs every day, I improve my photography skills and was able to portray my city. I managed to keep a visual discurse throughtout the whole process creating a photo collection that I really liked. I am very happy the experience.

Thanks for reading and good vibes!



Take a look to the photographs and stories from the previous week:
semana_1.1_final.png
"I took the challenge as an opportunity to improve my photography..."
FIRST WEEK
semana_2.1_final.png
"In the second week the idea was clear: I wanted to portray the streets..."
SECOND WEEK
semana-3-1-final.png
"Going out to take pictures was becoming my favorite activity..."
THIRD WEEK


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://eaamez.vornix.blog/2019/04/15/a-photo-by-day-for-28-days-photography-contest-final-week/

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by eaamez from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hey, glad you enjoy it.

Congratulations @eaamez! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @eaamez! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66