My Lagos travelling experience.

in #adsactly6 years ago

Hello guys,
It's your potential blogger here again.

I was having lunch at one of the Chicken Republic's franchises today when I saw a little poster with a quote on it that says

the world is your city so explore every street and corners.

This quote might not seem like much but it took me back a week in time, when I was in the beautiful city of Lagos, Nigeria.

As promised I'm my previous ulog post, I'm going to give you guys a run down of all my activities and experiences in lagos right from the first day I arrived to the day I left.

Welcome to the concrete jungle.

Lol I've always wanted to use those words "concrete jungle". My arrival to Lagos was like every other time only that I noticed that the streets had changed and I almost got lost twice. Apparently Lagos is a Good place for businesses especially companies into construction because I saw a lot of construction projects sprung up everywhere from pedestrian bridges to flyovers and roads. I was so enthralled in the beautiful sights that I was almost ambushed by pick pocket 😂😂😂 but fortunately I wasn't so easy. In Lagos you find pick pockets just like every other city in the world. It's funny because Lagos pick pockets aren't hungry children but grown up men obviously without ambitions. I also got stuck in the Lagos traffic on the third mainland bridge for three hours. Nothing welcomes you to Lagos as much as some good old traffic but that's totally normal for a very populated city.
image

The people

Yeah this subject particularly intrigued me because I've never seen people as dramatic and hardworking as the average Lagosian. From what I noticed these people get up from their beds as early as 4.00AM to avoid the Lagos traffic and beside I could see stores and office apartments lit up before 5.00AM. And as for the dramatic part, I think people over react to things and are quick to jump in on any matter even when it doesn't concern them. I could tell from their hastiness to assist strangers with directions, someone even offered to walk me to my destination when I got lost.

the anomalies

OK the most surprising thing I saw was people buying drugs from obvious uneducated women inside buses and bus stops. It was the most surprising thing I ever saw.... So I got in a bus from a place called Oshodi and three minutes into the journey an awfully dressed woman got up and started displaying some drugs and advertising them in "Yoruba" (I widely spoken language in western Nigeria). I couldn't make out much of what she was saying but she continued shouting "omode Lo abalagba lo". I was still thinking no one would dare buy such drug when a man seated behind me requested for one and others joined him.... I was soooooo surprised.
Another anomaly I noticed was how buses were over loaded with people, some people literally stood all through the journey just to pay lesser fairs.

The food

I can't wait to got down to this.
OK while in Lagos I got treated to delicacies like Amala, Asaro and lastly Ewedu which happened to be my favorite
image
Amala and Ewedu

image
Asaro
This is yam porridge prepared with some plantains.

The sights

OK if you've been to Lagos you'd agree with me that the beach is the first place you'd want to seek leisure then there's the ikeja mail and a lot of clubs to visit. But I spent most of my time at the Elegushi beach, this is probably because I've never been to one before
image
Elegushi beach

what I'll miss

OK am going to miss a lot of things about Lagos but first am gonna miss the cheap price of food... Geez the standard of living there is cheap compared to other parts of the country
Secondly I'll miss the beach😀 and of course all the places I visited

Finally I think Lagos is the best place to be because not only is it open to businesses but it provides you with a new experience every second.

Sort:  

I'd like to explore Lagos sometime.. But despite all, I hope you had fun bro

I did bro
Glad to see you on steemit bro

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by efetarhena from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62