You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Short Stories - Lessons from the Other Side

in #adsactly6 years ago (edited)

That's a good read, I like that it's a little longer than the average short story though it took me a few days of reading as I read this in buses and it so a few rides.

What I like about that story is that it contradict the old, seemingly outdated and not cool world, the third world country with its strange rituals and lack of advanced technology with the seemingly dated and fashionable USA with its technology and advancements.
I guess that this story means to criticize the new, rootless global world and it's contempt to traditions and heritage. I agree with that notion - children that grow without contact to their parent's and ancestors traditions (it might be religious tradition, national etc...) are in the danger of becoming restless souls - wandering in the world, a virtual world in some cases, without having a strong base where they feel safe and belonged and to which they can come back in hard times I their life- traditions, especially family related, are a strong and helpful anchor point!
I want to clarify, I'm not against modernity and globalism, I just think it should come on top of the strong roots of tradition and family - children growing up with both of that qualities willbe better, whole persons when they become adults and it might just decrease depression rates and make the world a little better place. I feel this is a message the writer will agree with me about.

Thank you for that thought provoking story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90