You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do Genetics Play a Role in IQ?

in #adsactly6 years ago

Clearly, both "nature" and "nurture" are involved in developing intelligence (of which IQ is only one measure).

My parents were post-war immigrants who had only basic educations. Therefore, our home was not exactly a hotbed of intellectual stimulation.

But they must have had some decent genes and plenty of common sense, because my siblings and I did quite well in school, learned to function in society quite well, and continued to educate ourselves well after we graduated.

The way I see it, nurture seems to have a greater effect than nature. (Although I will readily admit that that is not always the case.)

Sure, our genes and our DNA are the blocks from which we are built, but our true essence is in the heart of the structure built by those blocks. In our hearts and in our minds. Which can grow and develop only if properly nurtured.

Sort:  

You made an outstanding point to the subject of article. I have no choice but to agree with you.

Thanks!

me good vd bro

Great point there, my dear. My mother could study only up to high school but she was very up to date because of her reading habit. Stay blessed

Absolutely agree to your reply!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64230.75
ETH 3149.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85