A Date Gone Wrong

in #adsactly6 years ago


She Was Out Of Her League In The Elegant Restaurant - Pixabay (CC0)
This was definitely not the kind of restaurant I would visit on a regular day. Everything looked too expensive, too posh. Even the lady at the welcome desk looked more elegant than the models I saw on TV. What on earth was I doing here? Why did I accept to go on a date with boss's friend? I was definitely out of my league and the thought did nothing to quell my burgeoning feeling of nervousness. As soon as I told them my name and the name of my date, I began to get the queenly treatment. The seats were so comfortable, so decadent, so elegant. I got a complimentary glass of wine. The wine tasted like heaven and I would not have been surprised to hear that this was the elixir the angels drank. I sipped as I waited for my date. It was hard not to guzzle it all down but I needed to keep a clear head. I looked round the room, trying to act as blasé and as casual as possible. Effervescent excitement bubbled inside me as I recognized several celebrities, actors, actresses, senators, etc. I knew the instant my date arrived. He had such an imposing, commanding presence, looking every inch like the millionaire that he was. He stood still, looking round. The thought that he was searching for me was heady! His eyes found me and it was as though I was trapped. Those eyes practically drew me in! He walked purposefully towards me, looking as me as though he was coming to hurl me to my feet and kiss me senseless. I struggled to draw a breathe, it was definitely gonna be a long night.

Thin blue line.png

“Good evening sir” I said as I rose to my feet. He gestured for me to sit down and I obeyed instantly. "Please call me just Adeolu for tonight, ditch the sir" he said.

“Oh. Alright. Please call me Labake too” said I.

“You've got a really beautiful name, Labake. It suits you perfectly” he said, giving me a pretty sultry look alongside the compliment.

I looked everywhere but at him, struggling to keep the shyness I was feeling at bay. I could feel him watching me, patiently waiting for me to make eye contact. Eventually, I met his eyes and I could tell by the way his eyes glittered that he was amused at my discomfiture.

“Have you looked through the menu?” he asked.

“Yes, I have but I have no idea what to pick, not sure what I'll have” I said.

“Well, you can have me” he said with a mischievous grin.

It seemed like an innocent teasing statement, but the way he was looking at me suggested otherwise. I didn’t know if i was being teased or if he was hitting on me so I laughed and the moment passed. He ordered for both of us and we dug into the delicious gourmet dishes as they were brought in course after course. I was pleasantly full and feeling deliciously relaxed & satisfied as we ate the dessert. We carried on a light banter and then out of nowhere, he dropped the question, “Do you have a boyfriend?”. He had been dishing out different highly coded innuendos all through the meal. I felt as though he had been playing with me, enjoying my discomfiture all along. But this question was pretty obvious, Mr Adeolu Solomon was definitely flirting with me. Me!

“Me? No sir. Sorry, I mean, no Adeolu” I replied, practically stammering.

Thin blue line.png


Burning Up From The Mind Games & Sensual Torture - Pixabay (CC0)
He leaned towards me, looking at me with a hooded, heated gaze. The scent of his incredible perfume filtered through my nostrils despite the amazing aroma of the food around us. I found myself leaning forward expectantly, I couldn't help myself really. He looked like he was about to say something, but he said nothing, just watched me. His eyes seemed to touch my lips, my cheeks, my temple, my chest and I felt as though he was touching me. I’d never felt anything like that before and I squirmed in my seat, feeling like there was liquid fire pouring through my veins and heading towards my body's lower regions. My tummy felt as though it was full of winged insects and I gasped quietly at the sensation. I could see in his eyes that he knew what he was doing to me, as his gaze returned to my eyes, holding me trapped as surely as if he had bound me to the chair. I found myself desperately wanting what he was silently offering yet knowing I couldn't indulge. My boss would not find it funny and my parents would not approve. My religion did not permit it either but I couldn't stop the silent communication, I had been so lonely and was soaking up his attention as though my life depended on it. I knew I was giving him the wrong signals and I searched my mind frantically for something to say to snap us out of the escalating heated mood.

Thin blue line.png

“I...um…sir...uh...Adeolu, how is your fiancee, I heard you might be getting married soon?” I asked and for the first time since I’d laid eyes on him that evening, his sophisticated confident mien slipped. He seemed to struggle to regain his composure. I watched him lean back and adjust himself and then he looked at me. What I saw in his eyes confused me. I though I saw a bit of anger and then a bit of sadness. A moment later all the emotions were gone from his eyes. All I could see was a poker face. Gone was the flirting man and here was the tough big boy I knew him to be. I watched the transformation with confusion and regret, I had only meant to diffuse the tension a little. He called sharply to the waiter and settled the astronomical bill quickly and efficiently. "Thanks for a great evening" he said as he rose to his feet. I had no choice but to rise as well. The pleasant evening was obviously over. "Please follow my P.A. He would take you home" he said, gesturing at a young man standing beside the table. I had been so focused on him that I hadn't realized he had summoned his P.A. I followed the young man out of the classy restaurant feeling completely dis-stabilized. He had toyed so successfully with my emotions and then withdrawn so sharply. I fought the urge to look back at him as we walked out, wondering if I would ever have the chance to be with this gorgeous enigmatic man ever again.

Cheers and thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I wonder what could make a man change so abruptly.

Will she try to reconnect? I feel for her😧

Aha! I like this comment @autofreak...What made him switch? She wasn't supposed to be falling for him anyway, so maybe twas a good thing yeah?

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Lol. Adeolu is pretty A-class at mind games. I wonder what it was about the marriage bit that turned him off. Oh well, peoplereact differently.

Like autofreak already asked. Will they meet again?

I wish there will be second chance, maybe when she flex same financial muscle like Adeolu.

Wouldn't that be awesome. Maybe we could even push it. Say, a reverse situation. Lol.

Yes guys @pangoli and @autofreak...they met again but that's a story for another day! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88