You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Map Development for Alacantis, part 1 - A'mara Books

in #adsactly5 years ago

Peaceful is good - it helps get the rest of us to focus on being at peace more. Learning to accept who we are and the fact that we cannot to everything that we want to - and that it's okay.

Hopping here to there isn't a bad thing - it's actually a symptom of high IQ. :-) (Or a well-functioning brain anyway.)

But it also can lead to not doing anything more than tolerably. :-p

I can do a lot of things well enough. When I talk about languages - I know just enough to get myself into trouble in a couple dozen countries... but I've never finished the job.

Writing for Steemit is forcing me to finish the job - it's been good for me!

I've been writing around 9,000 words a week for about six months now - that's just amazing! (I'm grateful for a husband who brings in the actual wages right now - but hope that one day I'll be able to do it too.)

(Clumsy fingers are fine, lol. I find as my mind goes faster my fingers get careless.)

Sort:  

Well--I did finish one book, that sort of helps people. I don't really publicize it on Steemit, but if you'd like to take a peak, it's free for download. Has been for a couple of years. It was my first. I worked really hard on it. Tells more about me than most people would guess here. But if you're busy, don't bother :) I am at peace (I'm a septuagenarian--better be) Here's the book:https://www.amazon.com/Lupus-Handbook-These-Are-Faces/dp/147512306X
Nice chatting with you.

Ah, now I understand a lot. I'm not super familiar with lupus, but I know it's one of those auto-immune things. I have to take really good care of my thyroid for the same reason, just different manifestation. (Actually, my neighbor has something similar to lupus, I believe - if she's managed to get an actual diagnosis anyway...)

My mother is only a couple years younger than you - I wish I could get her on here, she has many things I'm sure she'd enjoy sharing.

A couple of years younger !! I love that. Well.. you can't keep me off...:)) If she comes on, I'll give her courage. Imagination and appetite for learning does not wane, in my experience.

My mother is busy with things like mystery shopping (good money if you get in with the right companies) and helping run an amateur radio club. But sometimes, she slows down enough to write down some of her memories or some poetry.
I share some of my posts (my update posts primarily) on Facebook, so she probably sees them, but her interest is fairly low. But hey - I've got readers here who love what I write - and that means a lot to me!

And I sort of write full time now... slowly. I do a lot of research. That's my passion, and writing. Amateur radio sounds ambitious. I'll have to check out more of your writing. I don't read too much contemporary fiction, or fantasy fiction, but I do open the door to work written by friends. And I can't abide FB---Although Twitter suits me fine.

Awesome! I definitely have been working on my stories sorta full time now. Definitely the thing I can't help doing (other than singing/taking pictures.)

Amateur radio itself is only as ambitious as you want it to be.
But my mother has recently taken on a fairly major position with the ARES group (Amateur Radio Emergency Services), as a regional coordinator, as well as more or less running their group. It was in pretty rough hands and needed something to happen. Fortunately, my mother is able/willing to do it. (It keeps her out of trouble anyway.)

FB is essential to me - it's how I keep in touch with my sons, my brother, my cousins, my mother... my classmates. But I can also read the writing on the wall - it's dying. I don't like Twitter, the whole "microblogging" thing is even more addictive than FB.

I hope you do get a chance to read some of my work. I'm at the tail end of my book here at the moment... I will be starting a new one here in about a week and a half - and a different one on Whaleshares and WeKu (same user name) next week as well - that one has already been shared here previously. (re-runs!) My writing is... different... romance and relationships are a priority, but I also have fantasy, a little sci fi, a little paranormal, a little action and a little bit of adventure as well. It's a blend that doesn't have an easy niche. I feature all ages from children and teens, young adults, older adults, and then my stellas (my healers) - they can be very old... hundreds of years old. Usually there is a character for everyone.

I promise to look it up. Right now I'm chatting with you, taking breaks to watch the House of Cards with my husband and locating pictures of ants!! I think I'd love radio. Don't like face-to-face stuff but radio is talk, especially emergency radio. Essential. I'm happy for her.

Pictures of ants...? That sounds interesting.

Look up amateur radio on YouTube and for your local area. You do have to pass a test to get on the air, but for the entry area, it's fairly simple. There is likely to be a local club that has classes from time to time as well with a testing session. it's inexpensive - and even the most basic radios are less than $50 now.
I actually prefer the written word - or face-to-face over radio - I've never been a phone person!

I actually used my ARES training to help with FB-related communications in 2015 when NE Washington was having all their fires. I was helping keeping the communications up-to-date, which was really important to many of the people up there who weren't able to get it themselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85