Trekking The Reinebrigen In Norway's Lofoten Archepilago

in #adventure6 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians,

Today I am going to take you on a little adventure to the Lofoten archipelago in the Northwestern part of Norway. This adventure will take you the heights of the Reinebringen that overlooks the quaint little fishing village of Reine.

image.png
The view from Reinebringen

Reinebringen in the island of Moskenesøya is perhaps the most iconic hike from the Lofoten archipelago. It rises up 448 meters (1470 feet) straight from sea level up through peaks soaring above the clouds and a route that runs through a steep and frequently slippery terrain. While not the greatest and tallest in the Moskenesøya area, the brief hike to the top (about 2 hours) combined with the most iconic view of the fishing village of Reine, make it among the most popular hikes in Lofoten.

image.png
Fishing village of Reine

Starting from the fishing village of Reine, finding the path to the trail was a bit difficult. I asked some hikers for directions and was told to go past the tunnel on the main road from Reine and then take a right after a hundred meters. I must have walked past it a few times until I noticed that an arrow painted on the floor that directed to the bushes across the street. The trail is essentially, what remains of a dried up river that has been consumed by hikers.

image.png
Looking back on the trail

Reinebringen it on!

Calling it, a trail though is a bit generous. Some parts look like a scene of the Fangorn Forest in Lord of the Rings. I can’t help but think there were some giant spiders ready to ambush me behind the bushes. I had to pull myself up on muddy ledges and used my arms to climb up on roots of old trees that stubbornly grew on the face of the cliffs. One grave mistake and it is good-bye, see you on the other side, No Longer Wanderlust.

It’s as if you could use some help from Gandalf the Grey just to get past this section or something. Once clear of the Fangorn forest, the road gradually becomes steeper and contrasts between rocky and muddy sections. The muddy sections can get very slippery occasionally. Nevertheless, the rocky sections present another sort of challenge. If there are other hikers over you, they could trigger a rock fall since the trail has been eroded from constant use. If you drift off too far from the trail, you run the risk of falling into a deep ravine, so remain on the main trail as much as possible.

image.png
Panoramic view of Reine

The trail will finally open up to a steep and the last rocky ascent until it flattens out to the ridge. The spectacular views over Reine finally emerge. There the views are different, with the Granite Mountains towering above a lake below with just a glimpse of the Reine. Traversing the spine up the peak where nothing to catch your fall is exhilarating.

image.png
Walking on this ridge is fun

Up there, my legs began trembling from a jolt of adrenaline that was pumping through my veins. The sheer vertigo-inducing heights combined with the sketchy scrambling up steep boulders can cause bladder-draining accidents of the personal kind. Not that peeing in my pants has ever happened to me before, certainly no on this instance. I’m just saying, not from personal experience, but it is theoretically possible that my pants got wet from falling into a creek on the way up here or from sweating profusely.

Ahem. (Blushes)

Why are you smiling?

Moving on...I will mention again that this trail is short but very steep and I am not even sure anyone would believe this trail a "hike." Most would probably assert that it is a "climb." It gets worse; the trail is also becoming more and more dangerous each summer due to deterioration caused by many people perusing the trail. The continued use has led to the terrain, which is extremely steep to begin with, to become more crumbly and steep ravines have started to form.

image.png
The Trail

Some places have steep sloping slabs staying that become very dangerous when wet. Because of this, some hikers have bypassed the trail and created new parallel tracks. This has caused portions of the trail to have several of furrows that encourage landslides and rock falls. Some sections are so steep some clever hikers have tied ropes to the top so that they can use it to climb back down.

image.png
Parts of the trail require ropes

You should check your capabilities as a climber and hiker. You do not want your fear of heights kicking in in the wrong place at the wrong time. If scared of heights, there are other places to hike nearby with equally amazing views and well-maintained trails. However, if you insist, you will be rewarded with the most the most awesome panorama of the Reinefjorden and the staggering Lofoten Wall. It is among the most memorable hikes I have ever done in Europe.

HIKING THE REINBRINGEN YOURSELF

  • You can reach the trail just west of the fishing village of Reine if you follow the highway E10 towards the town of Å.
  • Just past the tunnel (Ramsvikstunnelen) and to the right you should be able to see the trail.
  • There are also arrows on the pathway directing you towards the trail.
  • It’s roughly 3-4 kilometers to the top and there are some parts where you are pulling yourself up on a rope.

Do you have fear of heights?

"Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness." - Mark Twain

All photos are taken and articles are written by Adonis Villanueva of Always Wanderlust unless otherwise stated.

SOMETHING VERY EXITING IS COMING OUT SOON - APPICS

GET UP TO 2X YOUR VOTE VALUE - Steem Follower
GET MORE FOLLOWERS - Steem Engine

Have a Laugh!
The Spider in the Patio
Detained for Drugs in Norway
Unforgettable Ride on a Chicken Bus
The Love Valley


Twitter Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Facebook Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Instagram Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Website, AlwaysWanderlust.com

Join the Steemit Travellers on Discord

© 2017 AlwaysWanderlust.com All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

Wow that looks like a fantastic place

Amazing! I want to visit that place.

"but it is theoretically possible that my pants got wet from falling into a creek on the way up here or from sweating profusely" haha I hate it when creeks pee on me...

...also I'm obsessed with your drone shots.

Also, please don't make one wrong move and say goodbye to wanderlust forever. Too many people I know have died this year. I guess I don't know you technically in real life...but still.

Oh I'm still breathing. Already had a close call and all I was doing was riding my motorcycle slow down a street - got a titanium rod on my fibula out of it!

Well as long as you got a sweet rod on your fibula, then I say #WorthIt. But anything beyond that, be careful. This sounds weird but I've been talking to a guy online for about 3 years because we both do ecommerce, and I was finally going to meet him in person here in Thailand. Well, I've been messaging him and he wasn't writing back, so I just thought he was busy. Then I found out a few days ago he died on a motorcycle here and it shook me up.

But you can't hide under a rock. Keep living and adventuring. Just be safe. Use protection. Say no to drugs haha

Oh man. I'm sorry. That's terrible!

It's alright. Just a shock and I read that in your post and was like noooooo. Off topic...I think you've been here for awhile, right? I heard somewhere that if you want to upvote someone's post, you should wait 20-30 minutes so that they get more money.

Is that true? I was waiting for 30 minutes after you posted this so hopefully you get more money from it

Yeah, typically you want to upvote around 20 minutes to get more of the curation rewards. But the thing is, you need SP.

Oh... I thought it gave YOU more money at 20 minutes... Not curators. I'll have more SP someday

I didn't know Norway has such wonderful places and views. Nice post!

am from norway so..but we have the most beautiful scenery in a relatively small country

This is very romantic place and this is very big in covering are area very lovely place

very beautiful scenery,,

adventure is very exciting, I like adventure and I really want to go to Norway, thank you for posting some beautiful photos from norwegia, if I have a chance to go to norwegia, I will go to the place you show on some photos above

Love these types of posts that take you all around a beautiful location. Awesome thanks for showing me a spot that I hope i'll get to soon.

Wow.....i like this traveling...i wait your next post .all the best........

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=adonisabril
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=trekking-the-reinebrigen-in-norway-s-lofoten-archepilago


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66416.78
ETH 3082.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68