Inadvertent Training

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever been going along in your daily grind and find that you’re planning and preparing for something without really much thought to it? Ever been so deep and engaged in living life that you failed to notice your habits paying off? Missed that you had created a self improvement routine or a goal you were working toward without realizing so?

I thought long and hard about this while out with the girls this weekend!
8BA6A842-D282-4878-B374-829D7FC38B8A.png
I had gone that same morning for a long run, to watch the sunrise. To talk to God. To quiet my soul. To reconnect with life in basic form. Eight miles in, it dawned that this was the training for the race of life that gave me endurance, generated out of perseverance. I had no strength and was flat out exhausted. But managed that eight miles in about 58 minutes. So, a decent pace. I only wanted to get to coffee before there was a wait. And arrive home before everyone else was awake.

I find that parenting and life in general require so much of us that it is hard to break away. I also find that my husband is incredibly helpful, totally competent and so kind to let me run wild and free. He benefits most from a wife with a quiet soul.

The weekend was capped with a Zipline tour above the Snake River. AWOL Adventure Sports deserves a shout out. Thanks, Chris and Paul!

DFB37B74-25E2-4D73-AD29-3D5C16463B25.jpeg0B074661-5166-4AE0-9BBB-B6A1DCE69064.jpeg

I enjoyed the day out, the thrill of a new adventure. The break from my daily grind. And upon returning, I appreciate all things more. The physical health to enjoy life. My family. Good friends. A church I can find rest and wisdom and a pause in the hustle.

I also rather relish training. For whatever inadvertent thing comes along. Because training every day anyway just because gives me the strength to just keep moving. Paso a paso.

Cheers and have a great week!

Sort:  

Step by step...that's the key of consistency.
Have a great day too

Good for you. A new topic to explore for you, if you haven’t already — health benefits of intermittent fasting :-) Check out Dr. Berg’s channel.

Oooh! Yes, I have heard about it but no research yet! Thank you for that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59