Career Plan Changes

in #adventure6 years ago

alesia-kazantceva-283291-unsplash.jpg

I was recently sitting in an interview and was asked a question that I haven’t gotten in a long time. When the question was asked I wasn’t exactly sure how to respond in a timely fashion.

Let’s travel back for just a bit so I can better set the scene. I started my professional career, meaning out of college, about 6.5 years ago. While to some that might not seem like a large amount of time it has seemed like an eternity to me.

All have been with the same company and have been quite motivated to progress in the corporate world. I’m sure this came from witnessing my father run several printing operations all through my childhood. I remember visiting him and how cool it was to be the bosses son. As I aged I always thought that would be me.

I’m sure you can probably guess what the question is by now.

“Where do you see yourself in five to ten years?”, asked the interviewer.

Why wasn’t I equipped to answer this question you ask? I mean come on, who doesn’t know where they want to be in five to ten years?

For the first time, I felt lost and unknowing of how to answer. I quickly spat out what I thought made sense as an acceptable answer and the interview went on.

I remember when I started my career, and in the first meeting with my then manager, she asked: “What do you want to achieve in your career?”.

“Easy! I am going to be CEO of a Fortune 100 company!”, I declared.

An ambition that I carried with me for the first five years of my career. It was a thought that I had to be all in on one thing and achieve a high title, and make a lot of money, at a company to feel successful.

About a year ago things began to change in my life. Piper and I were in a newly blossoming relationship that was going great, my relationship with my son was so strong, and the idea for Dapper Dad Club came to me full force. The last one has led to what you see today and led into a YouTube platform and many more things to come.

I gave this story to say here is why the question was hard for me to answer. Career plans can change! And mine did.

In the past year and a half, I’ve discovered so much more about myself than I ever knew before. I have a significantly larger creative side to me, I love the insights we can derive from analytics, and I think human-centered design is what all product development should focus on.

All this to say that don’t be afraid to pivot your career goals. I’m still that same motivated young professional at heart and strive for excellence in every challenge. But I’m okay with saying that I don’t need to be sitting on the top floor corner office.

Life is yours to take and make it what you will. Allow yourself to become the greatest you, and enjoy the world.

Thanks for tuning in, and that is your Daily Dose of Dapperness!

About Dapper Dad

Hi, my name is Blake. I'm a true fan of the 1950's style gentleman, a father, adventurer, and all around Curious George!

Connect with me:

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter

Be Sure to Check Out the Site:

Dapper Dad Club

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing an informative article. I liked it too much. to make a certain future it is important to develop a career plan that provides financial support and personal fulfillment over the course of our successful professional life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66