#1 Backpacking to Costa Rica. Couldnt find my passport, nearly missed bus, left my posting key at home (oops)

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)


Day One of travel...

I got up to finish the last few things before I left home.
Looked up bus times to Arizona, and coordinated with the people I am set to travel with out of Arizona.

The insanity of this all.. Got packed up, and when I went to sign up with the US embassy for travel safety, the field of 'passport ID number' was left blank to get back to. I had figured it was in my backpack. It wasn't. I searched high, and low. There was near screams back and forth wondering if anyone had seen it.

A bit of blame was tossed around, thinking someone had moved things around. But I stopped to breathe. It was about 1 hour before I needed to leave for my train I had planned to get on at 11:30. I took a deep breathe, and figured maybe I had stuffed it in my car since last I came to pick my passport up from the house, luckily it ended up being in there shoved in the center console. Safe place am I right?

Now that that was solved.. It was around 10. I wasn't packed anymore because I had torn everything apart.

Packed some stuff for trade.

and some things to share my arts!
Light gloves, my journal, flutes, hotspot that works in all countries, and my ASUS transformer I’m blogging from!

I repacked everything, including my clothes. And the Uber arrived at the door. It was time to go, I scrambled to put my belt on as I walked out scooping my shoes up in one motion as I waved bye.

Told the Uber driver, Michael about steemit, gave him my profile name and told him to message me on facebook, I’d help him sign up ( an uber experiences steemit account wouldn’t be too bad )

I arrive at the train station, and ask for the ticket to Arizona, and they said they had none. I was lost.
I realized the site I was using at home, scanned many different train stations to figure out the fastest path. I had no clue what I was doing, I got the site pulled up, and barely got it figured out in time. With 10 minutes to spare to be exact.
Train arrived 11:33, some beautiful numbers for you numerology folk!

I do some train traveling and end up getting off the train looking for my connection. And where I need to go, come to find out- I have no confirmation number in my inbox.. Ugh.
Somehow it only bought one of my tickets instead of the Amtrack ticket AND the bus ticket. I panic for a moment and go to the greyhound station, sure they’ll get me to Arizona, for the price of a plane ticket.
F*** that.
I scour to find what the name of the other bus company was, and call them directly. Tell them my issue and that I’m walking to their bus stop and need a ticket even though its just a few moments before the departure.
I get put on hold as I’m double timing down the road. (it’s a mile and a half away and my pack isn’t as light as it should be)
Interestingly enough, down the road in Fresno, Ca I see a Toltec statue replica. For those familiar with the toltecs, I am going on this journey inspired by a talk I listened to Jose Ruiz, and Miguel Ruiz JR give a few weeks back on the Toltec way. Destiny? I’m not sure I believe in that. But, beautiful nonetheless.

The representative takes me off hold to let me know they can get me a ticket, but the bus driver says they are there early and want to leave asap.

I say alright and look at my navigation, still a half a mile to go. I hurry my pace thank her, and bid her a beautiful day.’
A few moments later I’m greeted by a sign saying ‘road closed’ the train tracks were under construction, I think.. No problem I’ll just go down a street a little ways away. No dice.
Closed as well.

This happened a few times.. And I had to briskly walk another half a mile. As I board the bus, I realize that, I haven’t eaten yet today.. How delightful. My stomach growls as the bus starts to take off, and the B movies start to roll on the screens all around the bus. To add icing to the cake, they’re all in Spanish.. Headphones drown that out nicely.
We end up stopping at a gas station. Thank god for subways, I load a vegetarian sub up with everything on the non-meat department even the things I don’t usually care for and shortly after we’re on our way.
I decide now that I’ve settled in it’s time to write a steem post or two.
I go to steem, and realize..

I never signed in on this device.. And my posting key is nowhere to be found. I slump into the seat in front of me. There is two options, turn around…

Or call my nana and guide her through my laptop, and how to send me my posting key.

The call lasts 40 minutes, and after some trial and error, I’m overall impressed with our communication skills. Mostly, painless experience. Thank you steem, for not having a horrid UI, or this would have been damn near impossible aside from me setting up a teamviewer and managing it that way.

I thank her, and go onto write this post. It’s now 7PM and I arrive in Phoenix Az, at 4A.M. Local time.. Running on half a sandwich.. 30,000 MaH of external batteries, my iphones hotspot, and a dream!

Thank you for tuning into the spectrum, tune in, to keep updated with the adventure.

Sort:  

@ADSactly is looking forward to following you on your Travels try to get Video footage for the next Post. We Upvoted and Resteemed this post that should help!

Welp, hopefully, you got all the bad luck out of the way early!

So jealous, even with all the annoyances you are on your way!
b.a.

You are so lucky 😊

Your all photo is great. Your post is very great.

Like comen for me please ☺

I somuch love the first view is so beautiful.

Great idea for my next travel. Such a beautiful place. Anyway, any fellow who wanted to support a newbie out here? I will follow back :) Please feel free to visit my page. Have a great day all of you

Thank you.......i like this traveling.......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66