The Encounters of Alexander

in #adventure6 years ago

The Encounters of Alexander
THE HOUSE ACROSS

IMG_20180613_100537.jpg

I sat up half asleep dripping in sweat trying to reach for my glasses. Oh dear god! Is that the time! It was half past 7 and I haven’t had anything done yet. You know, morning routine that sort of stuff. I grabbed for my water heater poured some water in it and ran across the hall to the shower room. Someone was still in there! I can hear the water running and someone singing inside. I knocked of course to announce my arrival by the bathroom door. It is really hard living on this apartment. Yes, I get to have a room of my own but the toilets and bathrooms are common so anyone living in any room within radius of these common rooms got to use them at any time. I really have nothing against it actually. It was actually kind of nice having to meet people in the hallway. Well not meet. More like stare at them like a lonely cat begging for attention that sort of meet. They say hey! or hi! And I’m just like eerrr… umm… look up then down at my feet, look away and pretend I don’t exist in this world. This scenario pretty much happened every single day for the past two months. I haven’t actually made friends with the tenants in this apartment. Just a few nods every time I get home from school.
I was leaning on the wall facing the shower room door. Looking to my right is a small hall and a staircase cutting it in the middle. To my left is a large window that would have been great if it was a porch just by the size of it. Directing my attention on the outside of the window is an old house. It was legit scary just glancing to it so I just stared back at the bathroom door with all the water rushing and awful singing as my mind faded away into sleep hungover. At last the door opened! Came out Miss Lauze smoking hot as ever but a story for another time *grin.
Bag, check! Phone, check! I ran down the stairs and halfway through the main door I ran back again to my room because apparently I only had my bag without the books and pen. After that I went outside and walked past the old house right beside my apartment. I noticed a package outside the creepy house’s gate. Slowing down my pace I frankly examine what was written on it and it had a delivery stamp on which was dated yesterday. I wonder why they haven’t taken it inside. The folks are definitely out of town for 2 decades just by the look of the house. I dropped the thought and went on my way.
Later that afternoon I was walking down the street towards my place. I saw a car on the opposite side of the road. A man of late thirties was looking over to the old house and the guy on the passenger seat had a camera on him which definitely looked expensive just by the size of the lens. But the camera looks old. I don’t know much about cameras but it kind of mismatched the set. Kind of weird but awesome looking. I paced a bit slower towards my apartment when the driver of the black Datsun pickup called me. “Hey kid! Come over here I gotta ask you something”. I looked at him with a raised eyebrow. I tend to do that. Probably why people raised there’s too. “what can I do for you sir?” I asked politely but rather loud.
“do you live on that apartment? Is that your room directly across the old House’s window?” asked the man.
I didn’t answer right away. I don’t know these people and why would I give them any information? I don’t know them! “Yes sir. That would be my room. Why do you ask?” I tried real hard to argue with my thought but I’m weak so sue me.
“do you happen to know who lives there or have seen anyone on that house?”
“no… I don’t know if anyone lived there. It has been like that since I got here” I said. “the window of that house opposite to mine was always open but barred shut. I glance at it from time to time but nobody seems to be home”
The guy on the passenger seat reached for something in glove box. It was a piece of paper. He gave it to the driver and the driver then handed it to me. “here’s our card. If you notice anything, uhh, weird on that house it would be great if you inform us. It would help us a lot”
Hesitant, I told them “I don’t think I could do that. I can’t be spying on my neighbor’s house for a couple of strangers I don’t know. And there is this issue about privacy policy. I don’t want a cat showing at my doorstep giving me a letter in a parchment about privacy policy” I said giggling at my own joke. I don’t think they understood my reference. I was about to tell them about this meme going on about in social media but decided not to. The blank stares from them was enough to ward me from killing the meme. “sure, why not”.
“Ok kid, I’ll see you around then” he said as he turned on the ignition put the car gear and rode off.
“Wait!” I bellowed. The car stopped and I looked at the driver now on his dark glasses. “What’s in it for me?”
The men rode off as I was left standing cold in the middle of the street. I watched the car drove off into the sinking sun. It’s like I was sinking with the dusk settling. The words that man said to me sent goosebumps all over my body like never before. I could barely move as my mind kept repeating what he said. I shouldn’t have asked but it kept coming back to me as he mouthed those word “I can help you get rid of your ROOMMATE”.

this is my first ever series short story here on steemit. Hope you'll love it
follow for the part 2 this episode of The Encounters of Alexander. :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @grimoireheart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @grimoireheart! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73